Important Notices

Special Announcements

Giveaways:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Other:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Search

Saturday, August 28, 2010

My Mockingjay thoughts.

I'm so happy I have Mockingjay. I'm absolutely loving it so far and I"m not that far in :D

I can't wait!

I must keep reading.

How are your thoughts on Mockinjay?

~M.A.CHASE♥

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Insane? Me? No..

Ok, I have one question for everyone who reads my blog.

Did you know, being a writer makes you insane?

Here are some of the (made up) symptoms of writing insanity.

1. You hear voices in your head.
You know how your characters' voices just seem to be echoing in your head all day? Telling you write from wrong and to steer away from sparking vampires? That is...not...normal.

2. Dreaming
If you're dreaming about your characters in some future scene that may or may not be added is also not normal...not everyone dreams about fictional characters. If you go up to someone and ask if they've ever made out with Edward Cullen they're going to look at you funny and walk away.

3. Your characters are your imaginary friends
Ok, if your characters are standing around your computer space asking you questions about who is going where and what is going to happen...I'm just not gonna say anything.

4. You talk to yourself
A the famous "talking to yourself" bit. Yes, I've run across this myself many many days *cough minutes cough* ago. When you're sitting in front of your computer asking yourself questions and answering them, otherwise known as "thinking outloud" then I suggest no one is around to hear it. My brother was in the room when I was talking to myself and he got confused. It's not even funny.

So, yeah, you're going insane if you start getting these symptoms. Don't worry it's absolutely normal *cough  no it isn't cough*

~M.A.CHASE♥

Mockingjay release!

Today is Mockingjay's release! Yay!

I'm going to be getting it very, very soon and it will be the first review up for a while.

I've been writing lately and now school started so it's going to be much harder for me to blog and read books, but once I get into the jist of things everything will be back to normal.

Right now I'm actually working on reading Holly Black's  Valiant and Scoot Westerfeld's Uglies.

I really hope to talk to you soon!
~M.A.CHASE♥

Sunday, August 22, 2010

Guess that Hunger Games Character!

Welcome to my second to last Hunger Games post. *group "Aw"* I know, I know, that means it's a day closer to MOCKINGJAY! *group cheer*

Alright, today to test your Hunger Games trivia I want you to "Guess that Character!"

Character #1
A female. She was in the 74th Hunger Games. During the Hunger Games this girl killed Glimmer from District 1, the girl from District 4, and Marvel from District 1. One of her weapons; a knife.

Character #2
A male. This character's only appearance (so far) was is Catching Fire. Replaced Crane as Peacekeeper.

Character#3
A female. Her appearances have been in The Hunger Games and Catching Fire. She is featured only twice in The Hunger Games, but she gives something to one of the characters that may or may not be important.

Character #4
A male. He lives in the Capitol. His appearance is "snake-like." He is cruel and not afraid to torture or kill people.

Can you guess these four characters?

~M.A.CHASE♥

Saturday, August 21, 2010

My Hunger Games Cast

This is the list of people I would use for my Hunger Games Cast:
Lucy Hale as Katniss Everdeen
 
Max Thieriot as Peeta Mellark
Logan Lerman as Gale Hawthorne
Elle Fanning as Primrose Everdeen
Robert Downey JR as Haymitch

What do you think?

Friday, August 20, 2010

Fake Mockingjay Spoilers

Here is a list of a few (Fake) Mockingjay Spoilers.

Katniss is really President Snow's daughter and it was all an act.

Gale commits suicide because Katniss chooses Peeta.

District 13 is really Knome City.

Peeta isn't really taken hostage, they just tell Katniss that to scare her into going to District 13.

Prim and Katniss's mother are on the ship they're just hiding and waiting to jump out and yell "Surprise!"

President Snow commits suicide!

Haymitch is really Robert Downy JR in disguise.

Gale becomes Peeta's best friend.

Anything else I should add?

~M.A.CHASE♥

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Hunger Games Animal List

Time to list and write about all the mutations in the Hunger Games.

  • Jabberjays - mutated birds used by the Capitol to 'record' and bring back full human conversations that the rebels had. When they rebels discovered these tools they sent false information back to the Capitol and the Jabberjays were eventually left to die.
  • Mockingjay - instead of dying the Jabberjays eventually mated with the mockingbirds and created these creatures. Instead of repeating sound like the Jabberjays, these birds repeat sounds and melodies. These birds are used by the farmers in District Eleven to signal the end of the day.
  • Mutated Dogs - during the Seventy-Forth Hunger Games these dogs had their eyes replaced with those of the dead tributes, making it feel like the Tributes were coming back to get them. These are the dogs that eventually mauled Cato.
  • Tracker jackers - enhanced hornets that track and destroy. In the best cases the poison will just make you delusional; in the worst cases, they could cause death.
  • Monkeys - introduced during the 75th Hunger Games, they were located in a part of the Clock Arena and viciously attacked the tributes if they came near. They are very agile, and their claws come out like switchblades. They use their claws and teeth to make lacerations and to eventually kill.

That's it for Hunger Games science!



Tune in tomorrow for another Hunger Games post.


~M.A.CHASE♥
I give full credit to this idea to Hunger Games Mockingjay Blog Tour District 8. I just went a little more indepth with the Mutated Dogs and the Tracker Jackers.

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

The Hunger Games Dating Show!

M.A.Chase(Hostess): Welcome one and all the The Hunger Games Dating Show. We have Katniss with a few questions in her hand and our two bachelors. Their voices have been disguised, so our wonderful Katniss will not recognize them.

Katniss: Bachelor Number 1, how would you surprise me on my birthday?

B1: I would bake a cake of your favorite flavor and I would ice your name on top.

Katniss: Bachelor Number 2, what would be your idea of a good date?

B2: I don't know. Maybe some hunting here and there, then have dinner.

Katniss: Bachelor Number 1, if you were any item of food what would you be and why?

B1: I would be PEETA bread. Just 'cause PEETA bread tastes good. *smile*

Katniss: Bachelor Number 2, if you could be an animal which would you be and why?

B2: You know I think I would be a tiger, just 'cause tigers are good hunters.

Katniss: Bachelor Number 1, what would be your idea of a good FIRST date?

B1: Maybe go for a moonlit walk through District 12 and maybe even stop by the bakery. I hear they have good PEETA bread.

Katniss: Bachelor Number 2, if I'm late for something because I'm sleeping how would you wake me up?

B2: I would put on some music and gently shake you awake.

M.A.Chase(hostess): Okay, have you chosen your bachelor?

Katniss: Yes, I choose--

M.A.Chase(hostess): Oh! That's all the time we have folks! See you soon on the Hunger Games Dating Show!

My Questions to you the viewers!
  1. Who would you choose Bachelor Number 1 or Bachelor Number 2?
  2. Can you tell which Bachelor is which? (You should cause I made it KINDA obvious :D)
~M.A.Chase♥

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

What Would Happen if Mockingjay wasn't released?

During this last week of waiting I'm going to make Hunger Games related posts. :D

Today I'm going to do a "What would happen if..."

I'll start with the title:
What would happen if Mockingjay wasn't released?
The world would be in chaos! There will be Zombies doing their "brain eating" bit. There will be Unicorns running around and vampires will sparkle. It's gunna be a mess.

What would happen if Katniss realizes her feelings are for Gale and not Peeta?
Zombies will take over the world. Gale doesn't belong with Katniss. They had their chance. Now it's Peeta's turn.

What would happen if Snow decides what he did was wrong and commits suicide?
Panem and fricken Earth will cheer, 'cause now they don't have to deal with him anymore.

What would happen if Cinna leaves the Hunger Games and goes to host America's Next Top Model?
The show would get so many more hits, because, c'mon, who DOESN'T love Cinna's awesomeness?

What would happen if District 13 never really existed and Peeta got taken by the Capitol for absolutely no reason?
All Peeta fans will go after Gale and Haymitch because they were the ones who came up with it.

What would happen if Peeta and Gale had a 'thing' going on?
...That's just wrong, how did I think of this?

What would happen if it was a copy of District 12 that was destroyed?
Why would they be heading to District 13 if it wasn't actually destroyed? What would be the fun in not blowing something up. Though, that would mean that Prim and Katniss's mother are safe.

If you have anymore suggestions for the "What would happen if..." just send me an e-mail or leave them in the comments and I'll be more then happy to answer them!

~M.A.CHASE♥

Saturday, August 14, 2010

The Life Of A Teenager In YA

Hi, my name is Ari and I was invited to do a guest post! I love this blog so I am enjoying this :)

So, Ive decided to inform you wonderful people about how the life of a teenager in YA differs from that of a real teenager.

Teenage Pregnancy-It seems to me a lot of writes (cough cough STEPHENIE MEYER) feel that a teenage girl will get pregnant after her first time. Which is actually, depressing because a lot of them are already parents. Now, I know Im only a 14 year old girl, but Ive taken enough sex ed classes to know that teenage pregnancies dont occur during your first time. 

A good book that involves teenage pregnancy, and shows it in a real way is JUMPING OFF SWINGS by Jo Knowles. It also shows why a lot of teenage girls have sex and why they make decisions that can cause regrets.

First Love-Okay lets face it, most teens dont stay with their first love forever. I know there are a few select stories based off of real life experiences where their first love lasts. But lets face it. As teens we are impatient. We cant last with one person forever. Theres always  those firsts, but most of them hardly ever mean much.

The Mean Cheerleader-Lets face it, cheerleaders really arent that mean. In fact most of them are just air heads who travel in packs. 


Drama-Lets face it, we all have a little drama in our lives. But not as much as YA has piling up on what is supposed to be the average, invisible girl. For me (average invisible girl) drama is just struggling to keep up with classes. Maybe the occasional fight. But thats it. 


Falling In Love With Your Best Guy Friend- EEEWW GROSS!!! NASTY!!!! My guy friends are EXACTLY that. GUY FRIENDS. Blah. I cant even think of *shivers in disgust* ill leave it there.


So those are most of my complaints about what YA does that doesnt really match the real world. Any that you guys know of???


Thanks for having me here today!!!


Ari

Friday, August 13, 2010

Interview with Hilari Bell :D

1) Did you try and express a hidden meaning with TICKSTER'S GIRL? If so, why?


Not really a "hidden meaning" in Trickster's Girl, but I am trying to pull off kind of a subtle "mirror" theme thing in the two books. In Trickster's Girl, what Kelsa needs to learn is to let go: of the quest, of her grief for her father, her anger with her mother...she needs to learn to stop trying to control all of life and let it happen, sometimes. Jase, in Traitor's Son, needs to learn to take control, and to take responsibility for himself, and for the parts of his world that he can effect--which includes the quest. So they're both doing the same thing, but overcoming opposite weaknesses to do it.

2) How many books can your readers expect after this one?

The only two books in this series will be Trickster's Girl and Traitor's son--which leaves me kind of baffled what to call it. Can you have a two book "series"? A duology?

3) What made you think of placing your story in the year 2098?

The exact year, 2098, has no special meaning. I just wanted it to be far enough in the future to be a bit different, but not so far that too much would have changed. Because if I let it be too far in the future, with too much change, then the story becomes, at least in part, about the future--and I wanted this story to be more about Kelsa and Raven.

4) How did you come up with the different technological advances? (e.g. compods, levcars, etc...)

To come up with the tech, I just took some of the things I know are happening now and pushed them a little--we almost have com pods now, really. As for the lev cars, I knew I needed to do something to update our transportation, and since they have maglev trains...why not? It's not really a high tech story...although, in the next book Jase drives an "antique" mark 14 Tesla--an incredibly cool car!

5) Which character's personality did you think was easier to write? Kelsa's or Raven's? Why?

Both Kelsa and Raven came alive for me well enough that I didn't really have trouble writing either of them, though I'd say Kelsa was probably the easier of the two. Raven's got some...inhuman edges that were a little harder to bring off. He's not always a "nice" person. In fact, in many ways he's an untrustworthy so-and-so! And that is a bit harder to write.

6) Can we have insight on your writing schedule?

I write a book a year. I prewrite, figuing out my characters and plot and taking tons of notes, doing research etc. in the fall. I write the first draft in January, February, and sometimes into March. I take at least two weeks off, sometimes three or four, and then do the first rewrite, which takes a month. Then I turn it into my critique group and give them a couple of months to read it, while I try to get some distance from the story, so that when they tell me what's wrong with it I can see that they're right, instead of aruging! Then I think their suggestions over for a while, and rewrite again. Then I turn that draft in to my editor, who tells me what else is wrong with it. I think about her suggestions for a while, and then rewrite again, and send it back to her. Hopefully she then says it's wonderful (I can always hope for that) and gives it to the copy editor, who sends it back with all the punctuation and grammer corrected, and I either OK what she's marked or argue with her. Eventually after that I'll get an unbound ARC to read over to be sure there's nothing else that needs to be changed...and then my work is done! But you can see why it takes a year!

Thank you Hilari!

Be sure to check out TRICKSTER'S GIRL Coming out January 3rd 2011
~M.A.CHASE♥

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Trickster's Girl

Title: Trickster's Girl
Author: Hilari Bell
Release date: 1/3/11
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Book Summary(From Goodreads): In the year 2098 America isn't so different from the USA of today. But, in a post-9/11 security-obssessed world, "secured" doesn't just refe...more In the year 2098 America isn't so different from the USA of today. But, in a post-9/11 security-obssessed world, "secured" doesn't just refer to borders between countries, it also refer to borders between states. Teenagers still think they know everything, but there is no cure for cancer, as Kelsa knows first-hand from watching her father die.
The night Kelsa buries her father, a boy appears. He claims magic is responsible for the health of Earth, but human damage disrupts its flow. The planet is dying.
Kelsa has the power to reverse the damage, but first she must accept that magic exists and see beyond her own pain in order to heal the planet.
 
Review: (I have to be careful about spoilers)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. No lie.
 
The minute the "mysterious boy" came into the picture I was swept away. I loved his personality and I loved Kelsa's too. The personalities would clash, but they also could co-exsist peacefully. :D They flowed together.
 
Kelsa was strong and--even though she can be cautious sometimes--brave. Raven(mystery boy) can be laid back and over confident. Though you fall in love with him the minute you start to get to know him. :D
 
It was action and it was adventure. Breaking rules and following them. Up and down. =D
 
For anyone who loves scifi and having a glimpse into the future this book is definately for you.
 
Interview with Hilari Bell coming soon :D
 
~M.A.CHASE♥

Sunday, August 8, 2010

Confessions of a Bookaholic Prize Pack #10

Confessions of a Bookaholic Prize Pack #10





Here's what you need to know:

One International winner will receive a copy of one of these August releases. Choices are: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, Halo by Alexandra Adoretto, or Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.
This will be ordered from The Book Depository so please check this LIST and make sure they ship to you.
You will have until August 19th to sign up for all giveaways! Winners should be announced Monday, August 23rd.
If you have any questions email her at totalbookaholic[at]hotmail[dot]com


~M.A.CHASE♥

Saturday, August 7, 2010

In My E-mail(3) In My Mail Box (2)

In My Mail Box is the Story Siren's where you post what you've gotten in you Mail for that week. In My E-mail is my variation of IMM because I hardly get anything in my mail.

IMM
I recieved bookmarks courtesy of Courtney and I thought I would show them to the world :D

Top: Shadow Hills Middle: The Cresent Bottom:The Tension of Opposites
Thank you Courtney!

IME

Manifest by Artist Arthur

Shadow of the Vampire by Meagan Hatfield

Magix: Notes from a Serious Teen Witch by Duglas Rees

Saving Max by Antoinette Van Heugten

Rooms by James Rubart

Hunger by Jackie Morse Kessler

Karma Bites by Stace Kramer and Valerie Thomas

Valley of Dry Bones Priscilla Royal

~M.A.CHASE♥

I've just recieved an award :D


Wow, this thing is all over the place and I guess now it's been given to me(: I would like to thank Courtney at Courtney Reads and I would also like to thank Ari from Teens Acutally Read for awarding me with this :D (I feel like one of those actors that recieves a Grammy Award or something.. Though the only difference is I didn't thank the Academy). XD

There are some things you have to do when you receive this award:
1. Thank and link back to the person who gave you this award.
2. Share 7 things about yourself
3. Pass the award along to 15 bloggers who you have recently discovered and who you think are fantastic.
4. Contact the bloggers you’ve picked and let them know about the award.

|▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄|

Fourteen things about me:(since I got it twice) XD

1. I have a dog and four birds.
2. I've only ever moved once at that was when I was two.
3. I love Paramore, Allstar Weekend, We the Kings, Tokio Hotel and Utada Hikaru. :D
4. My favorite color is BLUE.
5. I'll stay up until one o' clock in the morning either writing, reading, or wondering what parts I should change in my story.
6. I started writing in the 4th grade.
7. I hope to be discovered one day for a singing career.
8. I love to draw.
9. Libraries and bookstores are my home.
10. I love ice skating.
11. I want to go visit Tokyo.
12. I'm learning Japanese for the one above.
13. I can be very talkative.
14. I'm outgoing :D

|▀▄▀▄▀▄▀▄|
 
The 15 bloggers I chose to recieve this award:
 
This is going to be really tough, but I'll choose 15 :D (Not in any particular order!)
  1. Confessions of a Bookaholic
  2. Books with Bite
  3. Harmony Book Reviews
  4. Book Junkies
  5. Candace's Book Blog
  6. Tales of a Teenage Book Lover
  7. Julie Kagawa
  8. Word for Teens
  9. Grab a Pen
  10. Welcome to Larissa's Bookish Life
  11. 21 pages
  12. Cleverly Inked
  13. 1001 books
  14. Books from Bleh to Amazing
  15. Erika Breathes Books

~M.A.CHASE♥

Friday, August 6, 2010

Blogger Hop #5

Book Blogger Hop

In the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word! This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books! It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs to read!(via Crazy for Books)

Click over there and meet some new people, some new writers, some new everything! xD

Hope to talk to you soon :D
~M.A.CHASE♥

Thursday, August 5, 2010

Thank you :D

Thank you so much Savannah from Books with a Bite for the beautiful header!




She is super nice and sweet and I'm glad to have met her :D Even after my fail at Blogger templates she still helped and tried to make a template that didn't want to cope with her.

Thank you again :D


~M.A.CHASE♥

New Moon

Title: New Moon
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Release Date: 2006
Rating: 3/5
Publisher: Little, Brown
Book Summary:
I knew we were in mortal danger. Still, in an instant, I felt well. Whole. I could feel my heart racing in my chest, the blood pulsing hot and fast through my veins. My lungs filled deep with the sweet scent that came off his skin. It was like there had never been any hole in my chest. I was perfect--not healed, but as if there had never been a wound in the first place.
Review:

SPOILERS FOR THE PEOPLE WHO HAVEN'T READ THE BOOK

The next book in the TWILIGHT SAGA.

Bella looses Edward in this book and for months she is broken and she feels lifeless. Then Jacob shows up. Jacob, the sixteen year old who doesn't know when to give up...

I really don't like Jacob at all. To me he just keeps persisting when he KNOWS that Bella is in love with Edward and what comes out of that? That's right. Bella starts to have feelings for him. Hurray now we have the wonderful mixed feelings when Edward almost dies.

In this book I really thought Edward was a psycho. She could have been in a coma for all he knew and he would have gone all the way to the Volutri to kill himself. Seriously, why can't he just make it a little less dramatic and go to figure out exactly WHOSE funeral it was. Not just assume that the funeral was for Bella.

Wouldn't you go to the town to see what was going on before you make rash assumptions that can get you killed..for good?

Then, because of Edward's "I'm going to kill myself" phase, the Volturi have now figured out that Bella is immune to mind reading, Jane's power of hurting people mentally and finally Aro's "reading every thought you've ever had" bit. And they also want to either kill her or turn her into a vampire because of how much she knows...great...

Thank you Edward.

Then to top everything off Jacob tells Charlie about Bella's motorcycle and she gets grounded for a long time.

Thank you Jacob.

Jacob is gone because of Edward.

Thank you Edward.

But now because of what Jacob accused Edward of he's really pissed.

Thank you Jacob.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Singer

Title: Singer
Author: Jean Thesman
Release date: 2005
Rating: 3½ of 5
Publisher: Penguin Group
Book Summary:
For years, Gwenore's mother, the witch Rhiamon, has abused and ignored her. Then Gwenore learns that she has secret allies—her nursemaid and a mysterious enchanter-priest. They help her escape, first to an abbey, then to the women's community of Blessingwood, and finally to the otherworldly Lir, where she serves as nursemaid to the king's four children. No matter where she goes, the young fugitive, now called Mary Singer, is pursued by Rhiamon—but she is also learning about her own magical powers. When she learns that Rhiamon has married King Lir, she is ready. Singer knows that her mother will try to kill the children. Now she must save their lives . . . and her own.

Review:
I really like the story. It's got a great plot, it's mysterious and it has magic that doesn't over power the MC.

It's the story of a girl who ran away from home in order to escape her witch of a mother (in both meanings of the word). She is lead away from all she's know and stays with the Blessingwood women where there they work on changing her appearance...and her name.

The story goes on with the mystery, the magic and the discovering of new talents and powers. The characters were pretty strong. The built a good core for the plot to circle around and they had very good backgrounds that later came into play.

The only thing that I didn't like that gave it it's 3½ is the ending. I didn't think the ending was very good at all.

SPOILER ALERT

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

TELL ME A SECRET by Holly Cupala


I really like this book trailer fo TELL ME A SECRET by Holly Cupala. Check it out and make sure to SPREAD THE WORD. :D

~M.A.CHASE♥

Eragon

Title: Eragon
Author: Christopher Paolini
Release date: 2003
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf New York
Book Summary(Goodreads): Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.
Review:
I. Loved. It.

It was a beautiful book about Dragon and Rider. I got hooked on the first sentence of the Prologue!

The way it starts is, the boy, Eragon, is out hunting for food for his family. He finds a rare blue stone--which is later said to be a dragon egg. During the night his "stone" starts moving and shaking then opens up revealing the blue hatchling Saphira. The connection is made there, when Eragon pets her and they become Dragon and Rider.

As soon as Saphira is old enough--and big enough!-- to fly they set out on a perilous journey to take revenge on the people who've killed Eragon's uncle. Then The Journey Begins.

I've been in love with dragons before this book and this one made me love them even more!

Magic, dragons, mysteries, and Dwarves! This book is amazing and highly recommend it :D It could be as a stand alone book or you can read its companion books ELDEST and BRISINGER.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Sunday, August 1, 2010

In My E-mail(2) and In My Mailbox(1)

In My E-mail is my version of Story Siren's In My Mailbox, and In My Mailbox... you know where it's from.

Stolen by Jordan Gray

A cozy English seaside town built on secrets and smugglers, Blackpool is a haven for tourists
and home to generations of locals who like their privacy. American Molly Graham and her British husband, Michael, are considered outsiders, but feel irresistibly drawn to this town…and its darker curiosities. Because Blackpool harbors dangerous mysteries. And murder is just the beginning…
A shattering scream outside the old theater leads to the victim, a woman whose past in Blackpool is linked to a seventy-year-old train wreck, a lost child and acache of valuable paintings smuggled out of London during World War II. After a number of frustrating missteps, can Molly and Michael discover the killer in their midst? In Blackpool they know secrets run deep. And some want them hidden forever—at any cost.

Trickster's Girl by Hilari Bell