Important Notices

Special Announcements

Giveaways:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Other:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Search

Saturday, December 8, 2012

Book Review: LETHAL INHERITANCE

Title: Lethal Inheritance
Author: Tahlia Newland
Release date: October 10, 2012
Rating: 4/5
Publisher: Catapult Press
Book Synopsis:





If last night was real, Ariel should be dead. She’s not, but her mother has disappeared, there are bruises on her neck and the hideous beast in the photo looks frighteningly familiar.

You can’t send police into a tunnel that doesn’t exist after a villain they can’t see, so when shadow demons kidnap her mother, Ariel has to mount the rescue mission herself. Hot on the trail, she enters a hidden layer of reality only to find that the demons are hunting her, and they feed on fear. Ariel must defeat them before they kill her and enslave her mother. But how do you kill terrifying demons when your fear makes them stronger?

A quirky old guide teaches her how to locate and unleash her inner power, and while battling hallucinogenic mist, treacherous terrain, murderous earth spirits and self-doubt, she falls in love with Nick, a Warrior whose power is more than either of them can handle.

Ariel’s journey challenges her perception, tests her awareness and takes her deep into her heart and mind to confront, and ultimately transcend, her fear and anger.

Review:

If you like demons and crazy adventures than this book is the one for you!

Waking up to demons taking my mother would probably be the worst thing in the world.

Finding out that I'm the only one who could save her would probably scare the crap out of me.

Discovering that this was planned since before I was born would probably worry me to no end, since there are people who are looking to me to save them.

Those are just the things that Ariel faces in Lethal Inheritence by Tahlia Newland.

I loved the descriptions and the characters themselves. It was told very well, but I think the only thing that made me a little disappointed was how the demons were killed. I liked the whole idea that the demons feed on fear, but the way the die isn't the most "heroic" I guess I would say.

It was a very good page turner that anyone any age would enjoy!

I thoroughly enjoyed the book! Thanks, Tahlia for including me in another tour!
  M.A.Chase

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Review: You Can't Shatter Me

Title: You Can't Shatter Me
Author: Tahlia Newland
Release date: June 2012 (Paperback, mid August)
Rating: 4.5/5
Publisher: Catapult Press
Book Summary:
Sixteen-year-old Carly wants to be a superhero, but when she stands up to a bully, he turns on her. Words fly, and Carly battles with a silver hook, a giant thistle, a doubt dragon and a suffocating closet. Dylan, a karate-trained nerd who supports her stand, turns out to be a secret admirer, and while he struggles to control his inner caveman, Carly searches for her own way to stop the bully.  An old hippie shows her an inner magic that’ssupposed to make her invincible, but will Carly learn to use it before her knight in shining armour risks all in a battle with a fire-breathing dragon? Or is he the village idiot?

This heart-warming magical realism story will inspire and empower teens and adults alike.
Review:

In this little novella, the reader follows Carly and Dylan through an epic journey of good vs. evil, handwritten scripts and the thought that life can be written the way a person wants it to be written.

Ever since I first picked up a book, I've thought changing point of views were a really awesome way of conveying a story. Whether it be changing points of view in third-person or it be changing points of view in first person, I liked the idea that a reader could see into the thoughts of multiple characters in the story instead of one. It really suited this novella very nicely. Looking through Carly's eyes as well as Dylan's helped make the world that they were living in.

I enjoyed the fact that it was edited "according to Australian conventions" and that it took place in Australia. My best friend is from Australia so I was able to connect some things together from her first trip over there this summer. It was different and I really enjoyed it.

Also--note to the author if you do read this-- thank you for putting the glossary of words in the front. It really helped me understand some of the lingo.

The only problem point that I would have for this whole thing is the areas that were meant to be symbolic. I understood them, and I get them. I liked them very much. Then they stretched over the chapters and it started losing that feeling on me. I feel like they took too much away from the situation as they stretched out. What started as words attacking turned into a battle with a sword. I understood it, but it could have been shortened just a teensy bit.

Overall, I loved the story, the plot, and the message it gave out. The characters were strong and readers could really relate to them. I liked the moments of "writing" that Carly had and the moments of "script editing" that Dylan had. It all made the story and I really liked it.

Thank you, Tahlia! I would like to hear more from you soon!
M.A.Chase

Friday, August 3, 2012

The Color Purple and other things

So, for school the assigned The Color Purple and I don't think I've ever read this book so hard in my life. . .

It's not that it's hard to understand what's going on it's the fact that the language is very difficult to understand. . .

I don't know.

Maybe it gets easier to read, but so far. Not so much.

On the other hand, my WIP is doing really good. I'm doing two rounds of editing at once (one to add description and a follow up to make sure it all makes sense). I can't wait to get this all done with so I can start emailing agents and trying to get my book published! That's going to be really exciting. Can you imagine that?

In another note, I made a really pretty signature for my blog! I didn't know how to do it before, but then my mom asked me to do it for her teacher blog and I figured it out! It's at the end of this post so just scroll down so you can read it. :D

I still haven't finished the Sun of Neptune by Rick Riordan. I'm almost done, I've just been forgetting, or I've been busy editing, or I was distracted by something else; like summer reading, for instance.

Well, that's all I've got.

Ciao!
M.A.Chase

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Love Triangle NO-NOS

Hello, hola, bonjour, buenos dias!

You know the one thing that irks me sometimes while I'm reading a book? Really bad love triangles. Those ones where the whole book plays out like this:

Girl Main Character: I love you Boy Main Character 1.

Boy MC1: I love you too GMC.

Boy MC2: I love her a lot more than you do.

BMC1: Oh yeah? You wanna fight for that?

BMC2: Let's go!

BMC1 and BMC2 begin to tussel while GMC is watching

GMC: I love BMC1 and BMC2 is my best friend. What is this sudden feeling? A LOVE FOR MY BEST FRIEND?!?! OH MY GOSH. WHICH DO I CHOSE?!?!?!??!?!

Me: . . . No.

There are better ways to present a love triangle without making it cheesy and annoying and your readers get to a point where they hate the main characters and want them to die. . . okay. That might have been a really strong word there. . . Want them to disappear. That's better.

*cough*

Anyway, I can't believe I'm  going to say this. . .

Twilight had a pretty good love triangle. I'm not saying the books were amazing (because frankly, they're not the best), but the love triangle with Bella, Jacob, and Edward was presented decently. Why do I say that? Let's pick apart the love triangle!

The Girl

Bella wasn't completely annoying (other than the fact that the whole book she was asking Edward to bite her . . .) in the sense that she wasn't jumping back and forth between Edward and Jacob the whole time. She knew who she wanted to be with and she made that clear.

The Boys

More like a teenage wolf and a forty million year old vampire, but whatever! You get what I'm talking about.

Edward and Jacob weren't best friends to begin with. In fact, they were already enemies that wanted to rip each other's throats out so that helps with the love triangle. When Edward and Bella started dating, Jacob didn't come around all the time making the moves on Bella. It was only after he found the opportunity to snatch her from Edward did Jacob even try to do anything.

Jacob loves her enough that he doesn't sit around trying to steal her when Edward comes back. Yes, Jacob does get extremely pissed only because of what Edward put her through only to come around showing his face to the same girl he almost killed multiple times. . .

They also decide to work things out instead of having a feud for the rest of their lives that tears the poor girl apart. Again it doesn't work out like this:

BMC1: I don't want you around him anymore. He's not good for you, yada yada yada.

GMC: But I love him. He's my best friend, yada yada yada.

BMC2: Let her do what she wants. You don't control her life.

BMC1: You don't control her either. She can hang around me all she wants.

BMC1 and 2 begin to tussel while GMC watches

GMC: WHICH DO I CHOSE? I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. I LOVE BMC1, BUT BMC2 IS MY BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD I CAN'T ABANDON HIM.

Inserts dramatic happening to GMC that makes BMC1 and BMC2 best friends forever and they live happily ever after.

Me: . . . No.

It wouldn't happen like that in real life!



Look at The Hunger Games.  That had an amazing love triangle. Katniss struggled between both, but Collins didn't make it sound annoying or make you want to through the book in a fire and watch it slowly burn because you can't handle the girl fretting over the boys.

Katniss did struggle, but it was a more realistic struggle between her best friend and the boy with the bread.

That's it.

There was jealousy, but never was there any random fighting between the two boys. The two boys were never even friends. There were no dramatic happenings that made them come together and sing Kumbaya. They were jealous of each other and they both hated the other. That never turned into anything physical. No confrontations. No problems.

I hope this helps the world become a better place when the horrible love triangles are written better and don't have whiny GMCs. That's all.

(Photos courtesy of Google Images)
~M.A.Chase♥

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Book Review: City of Glass

Title: City of Glass
Author: Cassandra Clare
Release date: 2009
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: McElderry Books
Book Summary:
To save her mother's life, Clary travels to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters--never mind that by doing so she is breaking the Law, which could mean death. Even worse, Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by Shadowhunters who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight. Luckily, Clary finds an ally in the mysterious Sebastian, who holds a strange attraction for her. As Valentine musters a demon army, can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their ancient hatred and work together? And can Clary harness her newfound powers to help save them all--whatever the cost?
Review:

I didn't realize I haven't posted up this review! Whoops!

The third (supposed to be final) installment of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, City of Glass offers a winding tale of Clary's and Jace's family. . . and Valentine's.

Clare does not fail when it comes to The Mortal Instruments. She has beautiful descriptions that make the area come to life around you; the smells, the tastes, and the sounds. Her cliffhangers when she switches from one character's point of view to the next has you turning the pages trying to find out if that last character is okay and not being eaten by a demon.

Things you don't expect fly out from the shadows and get shoved into your face as if saying "HA, we got you again. What are you going to do about it?"

There are times when your heart breaks and other times when your heart soars and you wonder when there will be a section that you can rest from the emotional rollercoaster.

All the characters you've known from the other two books--Jace, Clary, Simon, Alec, Isabelle, etc.--all develop even further and show you sides that you probably wouldn't have guessed would have come out in those characters.

I'm not sure what the heck will happen in the next two books because of the way that this book ended (another surprise you won't see coming!), but I know that it will be just as emotional, and crazy as these books have been.

I highly recommend reading this book if you've read the other two: City of Bones and City of Ashes.

I can't wait to pick up City of Fallen Angels and City of Lost Souls.  I know Cassandra Clare won't disappoint!

~M.A.Chase♥

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Book Review: Perks of Being a Wallflower

Title: Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Release date: 1999
Rating: 3.5/5
Publisher: MTV Books
Book Summary:
It is the story of what it's like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives. We may not know to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through through unchartered territory. The world of first dates, family dramas, and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, where all you need is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite.

Through Charlie, Chbosky has created a deeply affecting novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.
Review:

THERE MAY BE SPOILERS

It definitely wasn't anything I was expecting, and frankly I think my hopes being let down is why I rated it so low.

This book is my summer reading book, so I was happy to read it since I've heard so many good things about it. "It's great!" "I really liked it!" "Read it! It's so good!"

In my mind, I thought it was going to be a first person/third person story of a boy that is a wallflower and he witnesses different things and whatnot. I was disappointed to see that is was a book compiled of letters sent to an unknown receiver.

It didn't bother me at first, but after a while it started to really bother me. When I pick up a book, I like to read the descriptions and imagine and have it playing in my head like a movie. Unfortunately, this didn't read like that. I had to make up my own places, and make up my own characters to fill in the names and place names in order to read the book and not get confused.

Charlie's letters still left me a little confused since they were jumpy and often jumped from one subject to the next with out prior warning. I understand that it's supposed to be a letter from a teenager and not all teenage letters have the best writings in them, but I still would have expected a smoother change in subject.

I really didn't feel like I connected with the main character Charlie at all. I didn't feel any familiarity or anyway that I could have fit myself in Charlie's story.

I wish I could have been happier with this book because I was extremely excited to read it.

Also, I have no idea how this book will be turned into a movie. Something that will make me curious enough to watch it. Let's see. . .

~M.A.Chase♥

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Where I Talk About Things

Hey everyone!

A little update about my reviews: I finished City of Glass yesterday so a review for that will come up! Hopefully, I'll be able to purchase City of Fallen Angels and City of Lost Souls soon so that I may finally complete the series (even though another book is coming out after CoLS?).

I finished my first round of editing for my WIP! I'm so excited because I've never taken a book this far into the process! If anyone has any suggestions for agents that would take high fantasy, or fantasy, or anything of the sort please let me know, because I will be looking soon! ;D

Well, that was just another little update from me. Expect a review soon!

Goodbye!


~M.A.Chase♥

Sunday, May 13, 2012

Update!

Hello everyone!

So, I've been reading CITY OF GLASS by Cassandra Clare and let me tell you I'm dying inside. I can't wait to finish so I can read CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS and CITY OF LOST SOULS. Ahh! I'm so addicted to these books. After this I'll definitely start the INFERNAL DEVICES series (also by her) all why continuing the first edits of my WIP.

Speaking about my WIP that's going great! I'm almost done with the first round of editing. Woo! I'm so excited, I've never been this deep into a book before and I've never been so in love with a book idea before. I could really see myself querying an agent and publishing!

Which comes to my next thought: does anyone have any idea how to write a query letter? I know, I'm thinking about querying a book to an agent and I don't every know how to write a letter. Please, please, please if you're reading this comment below!

That's just my mini update. Talk to you all soon!

Saturday, May 5, 2012

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Title: City of Ashes
Author: Cassandra Clare
Release date: 2008
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: McElderry Books
Book Summary:


Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires and faeries? Clary would love to spend more time with her best friend, Simon. But the Shadowhunters won't let her go--especially her handsome, infuriating newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil--and also her father. When the second of the Mortal Instruments is stolen, the terrifying Inquistitor suspects Jace. Could Jace really be willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Review:

The second instalment of The Mortal Instruments series doesn't fail to disappoint. Cassandra Clare's wonderful prose and her enticing descriptions always impress. I caught myself thinking about this book during tests at school! It was so amazing. I was always eager to know more.

In this page turning sequel, Clary Fray faces all sorts of challenges and discoveries that I don't think even she was ready for. Jace is her brother, Simon is in all sorts of danger, and the Inquisitor is doubting Jace's trustworthiness and putting him in extreme danger.

The Inquistor was a very interesting character in this story. She was tense and uptight, putting her foot down as a leader even though Maryse Lightwood is a control freak. She didn't trust Jace from the beginning, but what in her past has created this dissension?

Every page of this book had tension and action.

Ever page of this book wows you.

Every page of this book has a wonderful story to tell.

I loved this book from cover to cover! Currently reading City of Glass so the review should be up soon!

~M.A.Chase♥

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Socialpunk by Monica Leonelle Review

Title: Socialpunk
Author: Monica Leonelle
Release date: March 27th 2012
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Spaulding House
Book Summary:

Ima would give anything to escape The Dome and learn what’s beyond its barriers, but the Chicago government has kept all its citizens on lockdown ever since the Scorched Years left most of the world a desert wasteland. When a mysterious group of hooded figures enters the city unexpectedly, Ima uncovers a plot to destroy The Dome and is given the choice between escaping to a new, dangerous city or staying behind and fighting a battle she can never win.

Review:

You would think that the future would be better than it is today. But for Ima, her "present day" is anything else but. Ima's Earth has become unlivable after the Scorched Years which forced the population of the world to live in domes. In this action packed novel the reader is thrusted into a world foreign yet intriguing!

Right from the prologue I was intrigued and sucked into the marvels that Socialpunk had to offer. I was enveloped by a futuristic world that piked my interest. Leonelle's characters came to life in front of me and her beautiful prose made the world appear in my mind perfectly. I know that if I had enough free time to just sit and read the book I would have finished it in a day; never having put it down until it was done!

The ending left me on the ultimate cliff hanger and I wish there was more after it, but that's what the next book is for right? Another 100+ pages of awesome?! Haha. Thankfully I can continue rooting for the person I'm roothing for through the next book. ;D

I can't wait to get my hands on the next two books Socialmob and Socialhood. I know both of these following books will be just as amazing as the first.

Thank you Monica for allowing me to read and review it! It's been amazing and I hope we can continue to keep in touch!


~M.A.Chase♥

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Post where I talk about books and junk. . .

So, after a long hiatus from blogging I can finally say that I've returned! Yes, yes. After all of the AP portfolios eating my time and having no chance to read I have finally lived through my AP classes to relay to you "good reads."

I'm currently reading the second book to the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. It's SO GOOD. I cannot WAIT to write about it for you guys! EEP. I have a bunch of books lined up to read; The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan, City of Glass by Cassandra Clare, The Wizard of Time by G.L. Breedon and The Shardow of Spring also by G.L. Breedon.

I did finish my WIP finally, and I'm currently editing my heart out with it. Unfortunately, with the addition of new chapters, I'm only on chapter 12 of editing so it should be a fun time. I do want to finish before the summer so I'm working my butt off! Haha. I can't wait to relay good news if an agent accepts the book! I know, I can't get my hopes up. There are a lot of rejections, but acting and music have taught my that lesson so I've learned it. ;D

In other news, I may start reviewing essays just to review them. Over the course of AP Language and Composition I've had to read quite a few of those including titles by David Barry and John Ciardi (translator of Dante's Inferno).

Enjoy your day everyone!

~M.A.Chase♥

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

The Quaker State Affair by Dan Romain

Title: The Quaker State Affair
Author: Dan Romain
Release date:
Rating: 2.5/5
Publisher: Two Harbors Press
Book Summary:
What happens when “some day” finally arrives?

A mysterious explosion in Taiwan. Nuclear secrets stolen from Los Alamos. China’s manifest destiny at hand.

In the near future, America and China go head-to-head in a battle of technological bluffs, setting in motion a chain of events that could lead to skyrocketing oil prices, the end of the dollar, the      American way of life, and the republic itself. The only man who might have an answer in the midst of the international crisis is Patrick “Mac” McDaniels, a world-renowned physicist who wants nothing to do with the government. Has he been conducting      revolutionary energy research in secret? And if so, will McDaniels be America’s salvation—or its ruin? 
Review:

I guess I was expecting something different when I read the synopsis for this book? I don't know. Something about it didn't really get to me. I couldn't  get passed chapter one. It could be that I was reading it on and off so I really didn't read it straight on, but I don't know. I've never just stopped reading a book and never finish it. I guess I could try again in a period of time where I do have time to just sit and read pages upon pages, but currently it doesn't catch my interest.

I'll be sure to post another review later on if I do end up reading it and finishing it.

Thank you, Nicole for allowing me to try to read this!

~M.A.Chase♥

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Author Interview: Laura Kreitzer on FORSAKEN HARBOR

Here I have Laura Kreitzerauthor of PHANTOM UNIVERSE! Here are some questions that I asked about her new novel FORSAKEN HARBOR!

1. Why did you decide to make the prologue in Julian's point of view?

Julian ended [i] Phantom Universe [/i], so I felt it was necessary for him to start Forsaken Harbor. Also, his story will unfold in this second book, and you’ll see many chapters in his point of view. He becomes a new person in Summer’s life, and her reactions to his introduction show her growth from the silent girl on the Cosmos to who she is now.

2. If you could describe Gage in one word what would it be? Summer? Why?

Gage: integrity, because he is honest and has valor when it comes to Summer and those he cares for. He tries to do what’s right even when others criticize him for it.

Summer: courageous, because in the face of all that she’s been through, she’s come out stronger and overcome many of the issues she’s faced with her PTSD.

3. Why did you choose to add the "Recording"? Is this super important to the book that your readers should keep it in the back of their mind while they're reading?

I added the recordings because they are vital and important to the novel. Readers will find out their meaning and significance at the end. They’ll have to read to find out.

4. Who would you say is the organization, the Society? A group of evil scientists trying to take over, or something more?

The Secret Clock Society is a group of scientists who have been creating and experimenting on projects for years, all in the hopes of one day traveling time and creating their own world sans government influence and interference. The Society doesn’t want to take over, exactly, they want Summer to travel forward in time to steal technology of the future, then send them back in the past to start their own civilization with their other creations. Would I call them mad scientists? Yes.

5. What made you decide to set a book in this futuristic world?

To be honest, I wanted a time traveler (Summer), but I didn’t want to do the research into historical aspects of earlier time periods. Actually, I enjoy creating my own worlds like the one with the Canadian Federation, including the technology of the future.

Thanks for having me on your blog!

Laura Kreitzer
http://laurakreitzer.com
---
This book was so amazing. I can't wait to read more by Laura Kreitzer! I'm glad I was included in this tour! :D
~M.A.Chase♥