Important Notices

Special Announcements

Giveaways:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Other:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Search

Friday, October 28, 2011

Halloween and NaNoWriMo

Hey everyone! How are you all doing? We have some awesome stuff coming up next week and I'm super excited!

First, Halloween!

Who is ready for that? I plan on writing a Halloween short story for all of you so I can post it up so look forward for that! Also, on Halloween I'm going trick-or-treating. I know, I know. I'm a teenager and I'm still dressing up and going trick-or-treating, but it's going to be so much fun. I mean, who doesn't love getting free candy from strangers while dressing up as something that you like? I mean, I'm dressing up as a hippie which is completely me cause I think I'm a total hippie/tree hugger. Haha. What are you all dressing up as? I definitely want to know!

Second, NaNoWriMo!

This is my third year entering NaNoWriMo and I'm ubber excited! I mean, who doesn't love trying to write 50,000 words in only 30 days? I admit, this year I might not be putting maximum effort into trying to write so many words because of my AP Language and Composition class at school, but I will try my hardest to try to keep myself on par with the daily word counts we're supposed to have. *shrug*

I'm also very excited to announce that I got friends to join as newbies this year! Right now they're still panicking about not having a plot, and I'm telling them to roughly think a beginning and and end, write it down, and just ride on the seat of your pants; at least, for NaNoWriMo. I mean, after in editing or rewriting you can go back and actually plot and outline your story, because now you'll know where you want to go, what you want to write, what you wanna say. Still, I'm enjoying seeing them and trying to help them as best as I can, because I was a newbie once (two years ago *cough*) and it's kind of lame to have to figure out everything about NaNoWriMo on your own. I'm happy to help.

Another thing, I'll have weekly wordcount updates for how many words I have, and how many words your supposed to have for that week and so on and so forth. I'll also have a few encouraging sentences for you to read and keep you motivated so look out for that! :D

See you all soon!

~M.A.Chase♥

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Peace at the Edge of Uncertainty by Neil Hanson

Title: Peace at the Edge of Uncertainty
Author: Neil Hanson
Release date: n/a
Rating: 4/5
Publisher: High Prairie Press
Book Summary:
In a poetically elegant and highly accessible story, Neil Hanson provides a moving account of a man who journeys to the edge of death with his father, discovering a mystical surprise there. Explore the strength of "uncertainty" as a gift through which the magic of Wisdom and Truth might enter our life.
Those blessed with any doubt regarding the spiritual dimensions of life will be richly rewarded with a story that will nurture the search for Truth that is often hidden behind the veil of certainty. Those who have not yet pushed aside that veil may find in this story a window through which to grasp the blessing of uncertainty

Review:
Peace at the Edge of Uncertainty was a worthwhile and inspiring book. It was beautifully written as a letter to a father who had just passed away. From Neil Hanson's point of view, this story has his thoughts on the event as well as his thoughts during the actual writing of the book. In my opinion,it helps the reader feel more in touch and in tune to the author as well as the memories and the story being told.

It has a beautifully strong message as well on how as a young man he found "G-d" and how he found how these spiritual powers are just given to you, but they must be found.

I give it a four because I would have probably liked to have read a few memories of his father that Hanson finds prominent and weaves easily with the story. Over all it was a well written story and I would definitely recommend it!

Guess what everyone! Neil Hanson would want to give a copy of Peace at the Edge of Uncertainty to you! Just comment below with your name and email address and I'll let you know if you win!
~M.A.Chase♥

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Elemental Reality by Cesya Cuono

Title: Elemental Reality
Author: Cesya Cuono
Release date: August 21st 2011
Rating: 5/5 (AMAZINGG)
Publisher: Revolution Publishing
Book Summary:


NEW! Author Biography: Cesya MaRae Cuono hails from a small town in northeastern Pennsylvania. She is a graduate of Alvernia University where she majored in Business          Administration and also received her certificate of Multi-Media & Production makeup from Cosmix School of Makeup Artistry. You can find any updates from Cesya on her website at http://www.cesyacuonobooks.blogspot.com/.

Review:

So I haven't read many magic books in a very long time. Most of the books I've read have included werewolves and vampires (no, not The Twilight Saga. Haha.), or some other type of wierd magic power.

This book has really stood out.

It was diffierent from the rest of the books I've read and MAN was it interesting. I found myself saying "Okay, one more Chapter then go back to my summer reading book" about four chapters later I was saying that same thing.

I couldn't get enough of what Callie, and her sister Lola were going to do next.

Cuono's writing style was absolutely phenomenal as well! I could really fit in with what Callie was thinking and was doing which is always a big plus for me because when I can get into the character I'm all for the book! :D

There is also a lot of character development in this book which I also like to see. The character changing and learning as time goes on. It was absolutely perfect! I am defintiely looking forward to BATTLE SCARS which is set to release sometime during 2012.

I will definitely recommend this book to all who are reading this. Go on. If you're still reading then you're not going to go read it. Seriously. Go. Haha.

Thanks to Jennifer Baker at Revolution Publishing for allowing me to join the tour!

~M.A.Chase♥

When Callie Pierce was 10 her mother disappeared without a trace. 12 years later on the eve of her disappearance things become weird, supernatural even. Everything she was taught and learned over the    past 22 years was a lie to protect her. The truth is she's powerful and now she, along with her sister Lola, has to use that power to save her mother and family from the evil hands of fate that threaten to tear them apart.

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Guest Post: Kathleen Gerard Author of IN TRANSIT

Today we have Katleen Gerard as our guest for today talking about why setting is important! Author of  IN TRANSIT

________________________________________________________

Kathleen Gerard


The Importance of Setting in Fiction


 In fiction writing, a sense of place can anchor a story. But setting is also a tool for exploring character. Often a character's reaction and response to a place can reveal a lot about him or her. I couldn't set my novel, IN TRANSIT, anywhere but in New York City, as the NYPD Transit Division and the New York City Subway System are central to the plot. Also, the idea of the subway system--a dark, underground labyrinth--serves as a metaphor to reveal the secret lives and hidden motivations of many of the characters in the story. Rita Del Vecchio is the heroine of IN TRANSIT. At the start of the novel, she is a naive 22 year-old and NYC takes on different meanings to her at different points in the story. In the first part of the novel, Rita longs for Manhattan as though it were a "promised land" - a place of opportunity. As the story unfolds, the reader learns that Rita spent the first 12 years of her life growing up in the Bronx, a borough of NYC.

IN TRANSIT Cover Art
When her parents moved the family to a New Jersey suburb, ten year-old Rita sentimentalized her days spent in the Bronx and longed to return. Thus, when a psychic at a shopping mall reads Rita's Tarot cards years later and proclaims, "You're destined for greatness" and "You will marry a man in uniform," it's the push Rita needs to find a way to move back to the city she loves and has missed. By the time Rita graduates from the police academy and starts working for the NYPD, Manhattan becomes larger than life. This young woman and rookie cop, who thinks she is so tough and street smart, actually feels overwhelmed when embroiled amid the fabric of New York City. Patrolling the subways for the first time as a full-fledged officer during rush hour, she experiences a sort of culture shock.  As the story progresses, Rita gradually acclimates herself to NYC.  But the place she once deemed as a "promised land" now transforms into a place of danger.

People and places aren't always whom or what they appear to be. Rita is ultimately forced to confront the choices she has made -- the life she has created for herself in NYC -- and she is forced to rise up against the mighty city and the powers therein, refusing to be dominated by forces larger than herself. In Rita's case, it is only by making this journey to NYC, and facing each challenge, that she changes and grows. What about you in your own life . . . Have you always lived in the same place or have you moved around a lot? What does where you live say about you? Is there some promised land (a place of opportunity) you are longing for? Where is that place and what would you hope for in migrating there? Please share your stories with us...


To learn more about Kathleen Gerard and the story-behind-the-story of IN TRANSIT please visit http://intransit-thenovel.blogspot.comcopyright/ 2011 by Kathleen Gerard. All Rights Reserved.

~M.A.Chase♥

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

FANFARE by Renee Ahdieh

Title: FANFARE (Picture of the cover won't post)
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Release date: May 13th, 2011
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Revolution Publishing
Book Summary:  


Review:


"It's anti-capitalistic to love someone" -Cris Pereira

When life gives you lemons, you make orange juice. Life was well and wonderful for Cris, but the the reality fell harder than ever. When her fiancée breaks of their engagement Cris is hurt beyond repair. . . Then she meets Tom. Can he change it all or is she going to end up locking herself in? It's not the average love story. ;D

I was so happy to find out that the MC was a Latina. THANK YOU. I haven't read a book yet that's had the MC as a Latina and let me tell you, I'm loving it. I'm a Latina myself and I just immediately fell in love with Cris. She's snappy, she's crazy, she's strong and determined. She's a great Female MC.

Renne Ahdieh's writing style is extremely SUPERB. I loved it very much. Just they way the words flowed and the way it just grasped your attention the minute you read it just was amazing. It's been a while since I've read a good contemporary fiction novel that has no vampires, no raising of the dead, no secret powers. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

I was glad that at time I was laughing outloud to some of Cris' thoughts. They seemed so normal it was jut really funny.

I can say I really enjoyed this book from cover to cover.

~M.A.Chase♥

Posted June 20th, 2011
Cris Pereira hates starring in a cautionary tale. Alas, her recent heartbreak relegates her to this unbecoming fate. The only good thing about being dumped a foot from the altar is the newest layer to her punchy sarcasm. All she wants is a do-over, but this is not your average fairy tale, and wishes don't come true in the real world.
One Sunday afternoon, she meets a movie star. Tom Abramson is intelligent, charming, and impetuous. In other words, he plays the role a bit too well. She isn’t falling for it. She knows better. All British men are not descendants of Fitzwilliam Darcy, and movie stars are genetic mutations gone awry: X-Men with statistical disadvantages and emotional handicaps. Keep your knight in shining armor. A modern girl can rescue herself, thank you very much. After all, dreams are for the foolhardy, nightmares are just a part of life, and . . . this is not your average fairy tale.

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Manga!

Haha, so I'm currently reading a manga called Dengeki Daisy.

I absolutely love it!

Well for people who don't know what I'm talking about manga is comic in Japanese. It's read from right to left.

Manga is basically a book so I will be talking about it thank you very much.

Dengeki Daisy is basically about this girl named Kurebayashi Teru. Her brother passed away when she was younger, but before he passed away he left her with a phone that can help her contact a guy named "Daisy." "Daisy" is supposed to replace him and help her brother after he passes away to take care of Teru.

Since that day she has been mailing "Daisy" about little things here and there at school.

She's never met "Daisy" in her life, though she trusts him dearly because, well, her brother trusts him.

She does meet him, though she doesn't know it's him. At least not at first.

I don't want to tell you TOO much information about it so if you're curious check it out. :P

I will say one thing: my favorite catch phrase from Kurebayashi Teru is; "Go bald, Kurosaki!"

Lmao.

I will disappear now!

Ja-ne!

~M.A.Chase♥

Monday, March 28, 2011

Descent of Angels Challenge

So, I was on Twitter the other day posting all the books I've read and will be reading and I get mentioned for the Descent of Angels challenge by @TruthBeToldBlog and @BooksOverBoys. Seeing as I've already read a few Angel books I said "Why not?"





So basically, what the Descent of Angels Challenge is, is I have to read one book every month until December 31st with a main character that's an Angel, or that the whole idea in the book is Angels.

Here's my list of books:

April: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick Review
June: Torment by Lauren Kate
July: Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
August: Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton
September: still pending
October: Still pending
November: still pending
December: still pending
 ~M.A.Chase♥

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Fallen

Title: Fallen
Author: Lauren Kate
Release date: 2009
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Random House
Book Summary:

WHAT IF THE PERSON YOU WERE MEANT TO BE WITH COULD NEVER BE YOURS?


There's something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.


Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price's attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at Sword & Cross bording school in Savannah. He's the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are screwups, and security cameras watch every move.

Except Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce--he goes out of his way to make that very clear. But she can't let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, Luce has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret. . .even if it kills her.


Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic FALLEN is a page-turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

Review:

This book was just as P.C. Cast described on the cover! "Sexy and fascinating and scary. . ."

Holy crap this book was good. It had a great plot, which I absolutely loved. It was goth. . . well not really. The school uniform, all black, church, Gothic style. That gave it a plus. I would have like gone to that school if it wasn't a boarding school for screwups. Really I would.

I loved the idea of her being attracted and having that vague feeling of familiarity to someone that she could swear she's only seen at this school. It made the story more alluring, more suspenseful, more thought provoking--I think. I could not stop reading! I would be in the middle of my Mathematics class rushing through the work--without making a mistake-- just so I could get back to reading about Luce and Daniel.

Which comes to my next thought, Daniel. Daniel, Daniel, Daniel. His personality I would give him like an A+ I love it. And his looks the way I thought them up? Oh. My. Gosh. I've tried to creat characters like this and I've never even come close to making it like that. I don't know I just fell in love with Daniel the minute he was introduced. If anyone, ANYONE would come up to me  and was like that I would be IN LOVE.

Luce. She's strong. Dedicated. Not a damsel in distress. And just like me. I love her. I was able to really relate and connect with this character. Even though the story was in third person I could really insert myself in the actions, in what was going on. I felt everything she felt and I could imagine Arianne and Gabbe.

This is DEFINITELY going to be recommended to my English class the next time we do book things.

Now. The cover.

I usually don't rate the cover of a book, I don't know, just never really thought about doing that. This cover gets a ten out of five. It is so beautiful. The girl, the dress, the way it is, is just so pretty. I absolutely loved it. This is one of those books that I judged the book by it's cover.  One of my friends too a look at the book and was instantly hooked.

Just everything about this book was awesome. If you haven't read this PICK IT UP!

~M.A.Chase♥

Friday, March 11, 2011

Pray for Japan

This morning I walk into my second period to see one of my friends (whom I call my Sensei because she teaches me Japanese) super sad. She tells me that Japan had just experienced a Quake and Tsunami.

I about died.

I love Japan and I love the people in it. I couldn't believe such a devastating thing happened to them. Eight-point-nine on the Richer Scale. You know what that is? It is VERY high. Then to top it off, the tsunami hits ten minutes later with no warning.

The death toll is in the thousands and thankfully I don't think it'll pass one thousand, but we never know.

I'm now praying for the families who've lost a loved one and who are now suffering due to the what has happened.

First Haiti,

Then Chile,

Then Japan,

California is definitely next.

Did you see how bad it was that in the MIDDLE OF THE PACIFIC OCEAN there was a WHIRLPOOL. I mean come on. In the middle of the Pacific? That is some intense stuff. The footage keeps playing on and on in my head.

Then to top off their bad news, that nuclear power plant is going to have a meltdown if it doesn't cool down soon. They've evacutated thousands of miles in radius of the area and they're slowly increasing that evacuation area. They're releasing radio active GASES into the atmosphere in order to think of any possible way to cool it down.

Just like in Haiti I feel absolutely helpless to the fact that I can't really do anything to stop this from becoming worse. Though, unlike Haiti, the people of Japan are well prepared for these sorts of things, their buildings withstood the earthquake, but unfortunately not all survived the tsunami. Another thing is, Japan will be able to rebuild itself from scratch, which is something Haiti wasn't able to do without the help of the United States and other countries.

More information on Japan is to come. I wait anxiously hoping and praying that things in Japan will stabalize for them. This isn't something I see everyday. You can see it in their faces in the videos taken by people that at first they thought it was something normal, a small quake that will pass just like the rest.

It wasn't. And they knew it even before the sirens went off that it was more than just an earthquake.

I'm currently watching the Japanese broadcast;

So far 430 people are confirmed dead and 200 are believed to be.

8000 Japanese troops are being sent to aid the earthquake-hit areas.

Please help pray for them as we prayed for Haiti!

~M.A.Chase♥

Thursday, March 3, 2011

B&N take me with you!

I have no books.
I have to finish reading Iron Queen in 15 days or my netgalley thing is going to expire on me before I've finished it.
I'm behind on homework.
Neh.
I wish B&N take me with you! I would work there and ALL the stress of school and stuff will slip away and I will have books to read and stuff!
But yeah.
I've been super busy lately.
With AP, State competition for Thespians, writing my own WIP, guitar, I can't do it all at once.
Reading was one of the things pushed to the side.
Urgh, why can't I have more time like I used to in the beginning of the year? -___-

~M.A.Chase♥

Monday, February 21, 2011

City of Bones

Title: City of Bones
Author: Cassandra Clare
Release date: 2007
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: McElderry Books (Simon & Schuster)
Book Summary (back of the book):
When Clary Fray heads out to Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder. Much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered in odd markings. This is Clary's first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons--and keeping odd werewolves and vampires in line. It's also her first meeting with gorgeous, golden-haired Jace. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world with vengence, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in an ordinary mondane like Clary? And how did she suddenly get the sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . .


WARNING: There may or may not be spoliers in this review. Just saying, if you haven't read the book then, yeah, don't read this.

On to the review;

Wow. This book was good.

I started reading this in B&N one day, and like after that I couldn't stop thinking about Clary and Pandemonium. Then for Christmas this book was one of my gifts. (: I think this was like the best gift I got. I was that excited. It took me a while to start it.

Anyway, when I did. I couldn't put it down.

It was AMAZING.

Jace = <3

I so wish that thing with the thing, with the thing during that time didn't happen that prohibited this person from being with this other person because that thing with the thing just got me all sad and mad.

*cough*

The plot was great and it really had me hanging for some parts. I mean, poor Simon! I got so scared. "/

There was a lot of action (which I enjoyed), romance and Shadowhunter kick butt stuff!

I cannot wait to follow Clary and the Shadowhunters into the next book, (:
~M.A.Chase♥
Review:

Saturday, February 12, 2011

Laura Kreitzer Guest Post: Human Trafficking

Hello Literary-Folk!

My name is Laura Kreitzer, and I’m the author of the Timeless Series and the Summer Chronicles. This week I would like to alert everyone on a colossal crisis that’s gone unnoticed in the world: human trafficking. That’s why I’ve asked hundreds of blogs to be involved with spreading the word on this issue that’s become close to my heart.

As an author, and someone whose life is put in the spotlight, I keep most people at a distance. Only a handful of my friends know the whole me and the events from my past. But this week I’d like to share with you a part of myself that the outside world doesn’t see (and a part of me I don’t like to share). I was emotionally abused for five years by someone I thought loved me, my mind beaten into submission. Though the turmoil I went through doesn’t penetrate as deep as someone forced into slavery on the worldwide market for human trafficking, I can sadly relate in some ways: imprisoned, my life dictated down to what I wore, ate, where I went, whom I spoke to, where I worked, when I slept, bending to his every whim. He did not sway, even when I cried through some of the more traumatic things he had me do. I was a slave in my own home. In my desperation for freedom, I held out a gun and asked him to just end my suffering. I was desperate.

I can’t even imagine how many women (and men) in the world are in a similar situation. What’s even worse, I had it mild compared to the children that are sold for labor or sex. Surprisingly, the good ol’ U.S.A. is reported to be the host to two million slaves. Did you know this? Because I certainly did not; not until I was preparing to write my newest novel: Phantom Universe. The main character, Summer Waverly, was stolen as a child and sold as a slave to the captain of a modern-day pirate ship. From a loved child who only knew “time-out” as punishment, to being whipped into silence was something I knew nothing about. So I researched deeply into human trafficking and the psychological effects of torture of various types that one would endure in these circumstances. I felt shaken at my findings and knew I had to tell Summer’s story. (Read a sneak peek here.)

A storm began to brew in my mind; transforming, morphing, twisting, and expanding into this massive, black cloud. I had to bring this tragic atrocity to the forefront. My own emotional experiences, mixed with the research I did on human trafficking, made me feel an intense connection with Summer, and to all women who’ve been through this kind of brutality. The cloud ruptured and rained all over my computer one day. It took one month to write Phantom Universe, the first in the Summer Chronicles. I was so consumed by the story that I wrote nearly nonstop, only breaking for necessary tasks like eating, showering, and occasionally—very occasionally—sleeping.

Though the book I’ve written would be classified as Science Fiction, or as I’d like to call it, Dystopian, the emotions and psychological aspects are not Science Fiction—they're real. Reviewers have said many amazing things about Summer, this character who is so real in my mind and who I cried along with as the words poured from my soul onto my screen.
“I admired Summer's strength and ability to adapt,” says CiCi’s Theories. “I felt tied to her emotions,” Jennifer Murgia, author or Angel Star admits. And Tahlia Newland, author of Lethal Inheritance, remarks, “Summer is strong and smart in mind [. . .]”
Through her overwhelmingly horrendous past, Summer goes on more than just a physical journey in Phantom Universe, she goes on a psychological one as well; growing beyond her mute state to persevere and survive in a new world beyond the whip she’s so frightened of.

Now that the release date is here, I’m excited and terrified to share this story with everyone. I’m emotionally tied in every way to the words I’ve written, because they’re more than words. More than just a story on a page. Beyond the fictional aspects, there’s a real issue that needs to be addressed: human trafficking must be stopped. We shouldn’t sit idly by while this continues to plague us. Our world’s children—our nation’s children—are being affected. It’s time we take action!

Earlier this month Phantom Universe hit Barnes and Noble’s top 100 Best Selling list. I’ve decided to donate 10% of my sales from Phantom Universe, until the end of February, to the DNA Foundation.
“DNA hopes to help abolish modern day slavery, deter perpetrators, and free the many innocent and exploited victims. We are committed to forcing sex slavery out of the shadows and into the spotlight.

Freedom is a basic human right and slavery is one of the greatest threats to that freedom. No one has the right to enslave another person.”

—From DNA Foundation’s Website
I ask that you spread the word to everyone you know. Look around on the DNA Foundation website and find a way to get involved in ending human trafficking. Take action today. Everyone has a voice—you have a voice. Will you have the courage to use it?
___________________________________________________________________________

Thank you Laura for the encouraging and inspiring words that you've given us. Spreading awareness about human trafficking helps those two million people that are forced into slavery in the United States.

~M.A.Chase♥

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

I Am Number Four!

I Am Number Four!

I got it for my birthday and since I've just finished City of Bones I thought, "Hmm, let's pick up this book and start reading it before February 18th"

Why before February 18th? Wait, you don't know? WHAT ROCK DO YOU LIVE UNDER?! *cough* Just kidding. Anyway, February 18th is the day that I Am Number Four is coming out to theatres.

I wanna read the book before I watch the movie. Sure, the book is always better than the movie. I know. I learned my lesson with Harry Potter and Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief. I wanna read the book though. I mean, come on the trailers look pretty good.

Besides I wanna know what I'm going to go watch BEFORE I actually go and watch it. For some reason it gives me a sense of tranquility to think that I'm not going to watch the movie FREAK OUT then read the book and picture the actors as the characters. (I tried reading Twilight after I watched the first movie, Robert Pattinson is now always in my head when I think of Edward. . .yeah, that's bad).

Anyway, here is a summary of the book from the jacket. Enjoy:

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you've ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books--but we're real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and to become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. We have lived among you withough you knowing.

But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.

Number Two in England.

And Number Three in Kenya.

I am Number Four.

I am next.

Isn't that a bone chilling jacket summary? It makes you wanna pick up the book and read it, huh? Well DO IT.

Thank you. Have a nice night!

~M.A.Chase♥

Monday, February 7, 2011

Extension date for the Shadow of the Sun Giveaway

So, there is now an extension for the Shadow of the Sun giveaway!

I'm changing the date to March 1st because frankly I have VERY low entries. There is still so much room for you guys to enter.

http://www.tinyurl.com/SOTSgiveaway < That's the link to the giveaway post.

The form link is also on there!

Good luck and have fun!

~M.A.Chase♥

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Updates

Hello again everyone! Have't posted duet some family issues over the weekend, but now I'm back! How are you guys doing? Ready for updates?

Alright, well, first off I just need to scream. *clears throat* Ahhhh! I finally reached eighty THOUSAND words!It feels so great to think that in only ten thousand more words I will have arched my goal (:

I promise I'm almost done with City of Bones then after that I can concentrate on Iron Queen and en City of Ash. My science teacher says City of Glass has a huge part in it. I'm excited to read it and find out. (: #plansforfuture


I wrote a small little short story thing that's like three paragraphs maybe a little more that I will post. I don't know. I might make a separate page just for my short story things. #thinks

Hope you guys had a wonderful weekend and that all of you have a great week!

~M.A.Chase♥

Monday, January 17, 2011

Birthday!!

Tomorrow is my birthday!! Eep! I can't believe that I'm finally turning fifteen!

It's so exciting!

Tomorrow I'm going out to dinner with family and I'm super excited.

Then at the end of the month. January 29th to be exact, I'm going to be having a huge party. Hope you guys have a nice day!~M.A.Chase

Monday, January 10, 2011

Phantom Universe

Title: Phantom Universe
Author: Laura Kreitzer
Release date: February 15, 2011
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Obsidian Mountain Publishing
Book Summary: (From Goodreads)

Sold into slavery to pirates at the young age of four, Summer learns to survive the rough seas of subterfuge and thieves through silence. When the boat she’s lived on most of her life is destroyed, Summer finds herself washed up on the shore of a new world, a phantom universe full of the bizarre and extraordinary. She meets Gage, the one boy who understands the girl with no speech. But when their lives are put on the line, will Summer finally call out? Or will all be lost in the fathomless depth of silence?
Review:
"I don't even know you and you've stolen a part of me. Why can't I treat you like the other Outlanders? Why does my heart insist I stay and fight for you?"
 
Ahh! Ahh! AHHHHHH!
 
Review done.
 
Not really *cough* Anyway, on with the real review.
 
Where do I start? The characters;
 
Summer; amazing. She's so strong and she has such a terrible back story making her even stronger. I give my props to her. After so long on a boat not speaking she's still able to keep her head on straight on her shoulders. I would have probably lost it and tried to escape, punishment out of my mind. I love her so much!! I would love to see more of her.
 
Gage; AHH! The ultimate YA lover! AHH! He's just so amazing. He's like Summer's little personal hot body guard that we all wish we had. ;P Like Summer, he's strong. Even though his past is never mentioned in the book (unless I missed it which I'm sure I didn't), I can tell that something is making him stronger. He's so adorable and the way I imagined him was like the hottest thing on the planet. (: I would LOVE to see more of him in next coming books.
 
Landon; he's so sweet and protective. While Summer was on the ship with the pirates he was always there protecting her which I thought was super cute (not as cute as Gage's awesomeness of course). XD
 
The book overall had a great plot and I wasn't expecting anything that happened. Originally, it was supposed to be my treat for when I write 2K or more. It was one or two chapters per 2K, but then that slowly escalated to five chapters per like hundred. It was so addicting I put down everything to find out what was going to happen to the characters.

There are so many twists and amazing parts (Gage is included in most of them). I love this book so much that words cannot explain how much I love it. AHH! I have been recommending this to like EVERYONE I know. I might even use it for a book talk in my English class because it's THAT amazing.

If you want to see why I'm so obsessed then READ IT. (:

~M.A.Chase♥

Friday, January 7, 2011

Stuff Concerning My Contest and My Birthday!

Ok, first, the contest.

I have some sneak extra entries to anyone who follows my twitter. (: They'll happen at random during the whole month of January from now, on.  (Hint: Following me/Laura Krietzer on twitter is one of the EXTRA ENTRIES in the form)

Anyway, things concerning my birthday.

My birthday is in 11 days! I'm so excited! I'm finally turning fifteen and I'm just jumping up and down. (Yes, fifteen is a big number for me.) I'll be doing all kinds of extra entry things on my blog, twitter and on my facebook page. (: Just make sure to keep tabs and you'll be alright. XD

Have a nice day everyone! Phantom Universe review soon!

~M.A.Chase♥

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Bookish things(kind of)

I'm reading Laura Kreitzer's Phantom Universe and I'm LOVING it. I think she'll be one of the authors that I read all there books. (: Wait up for my review on it.

In other news, I've gotten over 77K in my WIP and I'm soooo happy! I'm 3K from 80K and after that 10K count down to 90K my big goal! If one day I come on here and the post is all jibberish and all you can understand is 90K then you know I've finally reached my goal! After that I'll finish my book freak out some more then start editing. (:

In other news, I have City of Bones by Cassandra Clare here. It's staring at me to read, but I need to finish Laura Kreitzer's Phantom Universe (which is addicting, btw) before I start any other books, though I will be forced to start reading it as it's the only book on my bookshelf that I haven't already read (though I need to finish Linger and Mockingjay, but THAT'S NOT THE POINT) and I need a book for English "Independant Reading".

I'm also thinking about starting to do some of my book review through video so I can literally TALK about the book and it's not a whole bunch of written words on a internet blog. (: I've never done a Vlog before in my life so I warn you I'm still getting the hang of talking to no one in particular in front of a camera (as I already do that anyway while I'm writing, but THAT IS ALSO NOT THE POINT).

I auditioned for a part in another play for drama and I'm freaking out about the part cause I don't know WHO got it. I hope I did, but I don't want to crush my friend's chances either. They've had experience since they did a last year, but I actually had the experience of performing in front of a live audience and performing in front of judges for competition (BTW we're going to STATE competition!) and stuff. It's not my fault if I get the part and she doesn't right?

On a lighter note, my contest is going swimmingly! If you haven't checked out the contest you should click here to see the post. It's a *signed* copy of Laura Kreitzer's Shadow of the Sun and the first in her Timeless series (which I reccommend you read). The contest ends February 1st, 2011 in which I will use Random.org to choose a winner.

If there happen to be any authors or publishers that took the time to actually read this rambling post (which is probably one to none) I want to hold a big promotional giveaway in late March, early April for a big blogiversary! It will be my one year anniversay and I want to make it as big as possible. (: If you are interested please e-mail me with the email I've provided int the Contact Me page.

That is all for my really random post. Hope you enjoyed. (:

~M.A.Chase♥

Saturday, January 1, 2011

New Year Giveaway!

Since it's the New Year I thought I'd kick it off with a nice giveaway of one of the books that I enjoyed the most during 2010. Laura Kreitzer's Shadow of the Sun! Click here for my review of Shadow of the Sun. Start the New Year off with a great book!

Here are the rules for this giveaway:
1. It is open to US and Canada and UK! Sorry for anyone outside of that.
2. You must fill out THIS FORM to enter. I will not accept any entries in the comments.
3.Please leave a comment on this post. It could be of anything. It's just to let me know you've read all the way through.

Happy New Year!

It's finally 2011 and all the books we've been waiting for are now around the corner! Who's excited for this years releases? I know I am!!

This year will be my year and I know it!!

Did you guys write New Year's Resolutions?

I did. Mine involves writing and blogging. That's fail isn't it? Oh well, here it is.

1. Completley finish the first draft of my book and start editing March.
2. Blog a lot more often.
3. Read a lot more.
4. Get on twitter and talk to other bloggers more often because lately I've been depriving myself of that.

What's you're New Year's Resolution?

~M.A.Chase♥

Being Jamie Baker

Title: Being Jamie Baker
Author: Kelly Oram
Release date: June 14 2010
Rating: 4/5
Publisher: Bluefields
Book Summary: (from Goodreads)
An accident that should end in tragedy instead gives seventeen-year-old Jamie Baker a slew of uncontrollable superhuman abilities.

To keep her secret safe Jamie socially exiles herself, earning the title of Rocklin High's resident ice queen. But during a supercharged encounter with star quarterback Ryan Miller she literally kisses anonymity goodbye. Now the annoyingly irresistible Ryan will stop at nothing to melt the heart of the ice queen and find out what makes her so special.
Unfortunately, Ryan is not the only person on to her secret. Will Jamie learn to contain her unstable powers before being discovered by the media or turned into a government lab rat?
More importantly, can she throw Ryan Miller off her trail before falling in love with him?


Review:
When I picked up this book I thought 'interesting, a protagonist that has superpowers.' I read the back and thought it was cool that it all starts because of a kiss.

The things that bothered me were how fluffy most of it was. I know it is probably the least girly thing I can say, but it's true. This book has great potential. There is a great plot and overall it's a pretty good story, but it was just way to "romance" I guess.

It was well written and well thought out to have her fall in love, then to have it be hard because of the protag's powers, though there could've been more scenes that involve her using her powers I guess.

The people that would really like this book would like romance and a little fantasy. I, myself, am I more adventurous.