Important Notices

Special Announcements

Giveaways:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Other:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Search

Saturday, July 31, 2010

Best Book of July

I was reading YA Highway and I really liked the idea of having a Best Book of the Month post.

I'll write these posts every last day of the month and post them up to see the answer. =D

My favorite book of the month would have to be TYGER, TYGER by Kersten Hamilton.

So, now, the question is on you.
What was your favorite book in the month of July?

~M.A.CHASE♥

Friday, July 30, 2010

Wish I was in a YA book.

I was on twitter and there was a conversation going on between two people I follow. That sometimes boys outside of books can be really awkward and that YA guys are much better.

I can agree.

Some awesome reasons why YA guys are awesome.
  1. They will risk their lives just to tell you they love you. What other guy would do that?
  2. They'll listen to your problem and help fix it.
  3. They bake cakes! (Hint, hint at Peeta) :DD
  4. They say I Love You and ALWAYS mean it.
  5. Sometimes they even turn their backs on everything they know in order to be with you.
  6. They're mysterious and sometimes have that really cute "bad boy" image.
  7. They can save the world :D Normal guys can't even save you from falling on your butt in an ice rink.
~M.A.CHASE♥

Monday, July 26, 2010

Confessions of a Bookaholic Prize Pack #2



Includes


Sarah Dessen Gift Set (Just Listen, This Lullaby and The Truth About Forever)

Forgive My Fins bookmark

Sea bookmark

You will have until August 19th to sign up for them all! Winners should be announced Monday, August 23rd.
Please check out the rules here - Summer Lovin' Giveaway

Prize Pack #3 will be announced tomorrow!

If you have any questions email her at totalbookaholic[at]hotmail[dot]com

~M.A.CHASE♥

Friday, July 23, 2010

Questions Day!


Free website - By Wix.com

Questions will be answered on my Twitter account @faith250
~M.A.CHASE♥

Tyger, Tyger Blog Tour Sign-ups

Join the Blog Tour to help promote Kersten Hamilton's TYGER, TYGER!

It's an amazing book! Help promote it :D

Just put your blog name and link to the list below.

Happy Blogging.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Blogger Hop #4

Book Blogger Hop

Today starts Blogger Hop. It is hosted by Jennifer on Crazy-for-books.com! It's a fun way to meet new bloggers and readers and writers. XD

Be sure to follow and leave a comment on the post telling me you're from the hop!

Happy Hopping!

~M.A.CHASE♥

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Confessions of a Bookaholic giveaways!



Confessions of a Bookacholic is having 10 days of Giveaways!
All you have to do is click the button at the top and it will take you right to her blog. She's really nice so be sure to follow. Don't go just for the giveaways.
The first nine are for US only, but the last one on August 9 is for International.

These are the rules Via: Confessions of a Bookaholic blog
Rules:
  1. You must be at least 13 to enter. Some giveaways will be age 18 and up. I will list the age for each giveaway.
  2. You must provide name and email. Email will be used to contact winners.
  3. Giveaways will be for US only (exception is the August 9th prize).
  4. Once contacted winners will have 48 hours to email me their mailing address.
  5. The form must be filled out for EACH giveaway!
Have fun!

 
~M.A.CHASE♥

Random Excerpt (3)

Last Excerpt: The Host by Stephenie Meyer

This book has something to do with sisters and wolves.

The Alpha takes a step toward my sister, his eyes deep ocher and raging like darkened flames. The other wolves--not a full pack, but at least a dozen--cluster behind him, pawing at the ground like racing hourses readying for their starting gates to spring. The dog next door howls furiously and throws himself against the fence. Apart from the dog and the heavy breathing of the wolves, the street is eerily silent. Even the street corners are empty, as though the junkies ran off like townspeople before a Western showdown.

Can you guess what book it's from?

~M.A.CHASE♥

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

No Book Reviews Today "/

I have run out of book reviews "/ I still have to get LINGER, and I still have to read a lot of things from NetGalley.

Random Excerpt post will be posted tomorrow :D

Catch ya later :D

~M.A.CHASE♥

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Tyger, Tyger Blog Tour

Hello Everyone

This is for the Tyger, Tyger Blog Tour =D

Comment on this post with your e-mail address an your blog URL.

This is for the people who want to participate in the blog tour next month :D

~M.A.CHASE♥

Interview with Kersten Hamilton

Here is an interview of Kersten Hamilton (no picture available) author of TYGER, TYGER

1. Why did you choose Irish folklore for your story?
I knew I wanted to wrap a love story up in a dark fairy tale, and the Celtic creatures come very naturally to me.

2. How long did it take from First Draft to having a release date?
Hmmm. I write backwards and forwards and all over the place. I will never have what most people consider a ‘first draft’. I have lots of scenes and emotions that I knit together to make the book. But it happens all at once, very organically, once I start to ‘knit’. ☺ Tyger Tyger took thirty years to think about and six months to get into book form.
I don’t have an agent, so I submit ms on my own. I discussed Tyger Tyger with an editor I like very much before it was completed and she asked to see it as soon as it was done. I sent it to her, and she loved it! I waited four months only to find out that she couldn’t convince her publisher to take the book. It was heart breaking for both of us.
As soon as I knew this, however, I sent it to another editor that I respect deeply. I settled in for a long wait, but it only took her three weeks to make an offer on the book! And as soon as she offered, I knew what the release date would be.
So the answer would be about five months.

3. Did you need to research a lot to get the folklore correct?
Yes! I have loved Celtic lore (especially the stories of Fionn Mac Cumhaill!) all of my life, and I still did massive research before and during my writing. I had to find just the right pieces to fit the story….

4. Are you planning to write a sequel?

I am working hard on the sequel, In the Forest of the Night right now.

5. Can you give us some insight of your writing schedule?

It varies wildly depending on my deadlines. Right now, I have three editors waiting for books so I write every moment that I can. Sometimes that’s five hours a day; sometimes sixteen. I am a little behind on my deadlines because life has been crazy lately!

Thanks for the interview Kersten!


~M.A.CHASE♥

Monday, July 19, 2010

Interview with Julie Kagawa

Here is an interview with Julie Kagawa author of the IRON KING and IRON DAUGHTER


1. How did you get the inspiration to create an Iron Realm with an Iron King?

I’ve always loved faeries, but when I started The Iron King, I wanted to write something that was a little different. So I started thinking, what are the fey afraid of? In myth and legends, the answer is iron. So, what if there were a type of faery that was immune to iron, and how would that affect the other fey? Then I remembered we already have ‘monsters’ in machines: gremlins and bugs and viruses and such. And from that thought, the Iron Fey were born.

2. How long did it take you to publish your first book IRON KING?

I wrote Iron King in a little under two months (thanks to NaNo Wrimo). When I was done, Harlequin Teen was just starting to look for new YA manuscripts, so my agent sent them my story and they bought it in just a few weeks.

3. How long did it take you to research the information for your book? (e.g. A Midsummer Night's Dream for Puck, Oberon, Mab, and Titania)

Not long. I actually researched as I wrote the book, mostly online. I already knew the Shakespeare play, and I had a good knowledge of faeries already, so it was mostly looking up new myths and making sure I knew what I was talking about. ☺

4. When did you actually start becoming serious about writing?

Around high school. I had decided I wanted to be an author, and had this ridiculous notion that I would write and get a book published before I went to collage. Ah, naiveté.

5. Do you have any tips about editing?

Don’t start editing until you’re finished with the first draft. Editing in the middle of writing the book means you’re going to be picking at it forever without getting any closer to the end. Just slop that first draft down on the page and clean it up later. ☺

6. Who would you say is your favorite to write about? Puck or Ash?

I would have to say Ash. (Sorry, Team Puck!) I’ve always had a soft spot for the cold, damaged Bad Boys who can wield pointy objects.

7. How did you think up Megan Chase to be half faery half mortal?

It seemed the right fit. Originally, she started out as full faery, but as the story progressed, it was obvious that making her part human was essential to the plot. She’s more relatable that way, and her being a half-blood actually plays a very important part at the very end.
Thanks so much for the interview!




~M.A.CHASE♥

The Body of Christopher Creed

Title: The Body of Christopher Creed
Author: Carol Plum-Ucci
Release date: In the year 2000
Rating: 4/5
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Book Summary: Things don't have to be SANE when they're NORMAL.


Christopher Creed was a freakm a wierdo--the kind of kid who makes other people feel uncomfortable. But even more disconcerting was his disappearance. Was it murder? Suicide? Abduction? Or did Chris Creed just run away? He's simply gone without a trace, and nobody in his small hometown of Steepleton knows what to think.


The only apparent clue--a cryptic e-mail message written twenty-four hours before Chris turned up missing--draws sixteen-year-old-Torey Adames into the mystery and sets him on a path filled with terror and pain. Soon vicious accusations are flying around Steepleton, pinning friends against one another. And the truth just keeps getting more twisted. Will Torey ever find out what really happened to Chris Creed?

Review:
The first chapters were kind of slow, you know, the starting of the plot. As it continues it starts getting better. As Torey starts trying to think of what happened to Chris Creed. 
 
It's format is Torey's Word Document explaining what had happened after the fact that Christopher disappeared. He's already changed schools from Steepleton to Rothborne and it's the end of his Senior year. He knows a kid that acted exactly like Chris and that's when the story of what happened starts.
 
It's a thriller that keeps you on your toes and pointing fingers at some characters. 
 
The main questions you may be asking during your reading are: Where is the body of Chris Creed? Is he dead or is he alive somewhere? Did someone kill him or is it a suicide?
 
The only reason this book got only 4 stars out of five? The pace wasn't consistent the whole time (well, to me) it was slow-fast-slow-fast. Another thing, was the ending. I'm not going to tell what it is, but to me it just wasn't good. From what I expected to what I got, it just really disappointed me.
 
~M.A.CHASE♥

Sunday, July 18, 2010

The Alchemyst {The Secrets of Nicholas Flamel}

Title: The Alchemyst {The Secrets of Nicholas Flamel}
Author: Michael Scott
Release date: Already out
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Book Summary: An ancient book is lost. The modern world could be ripped apart by the seams.
Review:
From Chapter 1 it starts off mysterious. Sophie, a worker at the coffee shop across from where her twin brother works, sees some mysterious people walk in. It switches to Josh's point of view, Sophie's twin, and you see what's going on in there. These men are after a book. Not just any old book though. The book that Nick Fleming has. From then on Sophie and Josh get involved putting themselves in danger.

And the story kicks off.

Mystery and wonder on every page. The alternating P.O.V leave you hanging sometimes. Some is right about to happen when BAM P.O.V change. I'd be focused on something lets say Nicholas Flamel would be doing, then it switches to Sophie's or Josh's P.O.V and then you just wonder what exactly Nicholas Flamel is doing.

An author's note at the end of the book fills you in on who Nicholas Flamel was and who John Dee was. And that everything said about them in the book was true and the only main characters that were made up were Sophie and Josh. Other than that it's completely historical fiction.

It was a great story and a great ending. I cannot wait to go hunting for THE MAGICIAN the companion book to this one.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Hacking Timbuktu/ Awesome news

Title: Hacking Timbuktu
Author: Steven Davies
Release date: 11/15/10
Rating: 3/5
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Book Summary (from netGalley): Danny is a freelance IT specialist—that is, a hacker. He and his pal Omar are both skilled at parkour, or freerunning, a discipline designed to enable practitioners to travel between any two points regardless of obstacles. This is fortunate, because they're off on an adventure that's filled with obstacles, from locked doors to gangs of hostile pursuers. Together they follow a cryptic clue, find a missing map, figure out how to get to Timbuktu without buying a plane ticket, and join the life-and-death treasure hunt, exchanging wisecracks and solving the puzzle one step at a time. An exotic setting and gripping suspense, as well as an absorbing introduction to parkour, make this thriller a genuine page-turner.


Review:
Considering what it said at the end "thriller a genuine page-turner" I really didn't think so.
 
A lot of the scenes were slow and sometimes the point of view changes and you only figure it out when it says the other main character's name (it's in third person P.O.V.).
 
At first you're kind of thinking "Oh, it's only the beginning, it will pick up.." It didn't. By Chapter 7 there was still nothing to keep you on your toes or wonering what happens next, you kind of just guess it and it's there.
 
This book had a lot of technical things to it like hacking and trying to solve the magic squares. I guess it just wasn't for me. The book could have done without the parkour and it still would have been the same. Parkour didn't really bring anything exciting to it, except for maybe being able to jump from roof to roof. That's it.
 
The pieces come into play near the ending, but I don't know. It just felt slow to me. You can read it, I'm not saying not to but..yeah.


My Awesome News!

Next Month (August) I will be setting up a blog tour for none other than Kersten Hamilto author of the famous Tyger, Tyger.

I'm so excited! She is so nice and I'm really glad I get to work with her.

So you will be seeing posts soon. :D E-mail me if you have any questions.

m.a.chasebooks[at]gmail[dot]com

~M.A.CHASE♥

Friday, July 16, 2010

Blogger Hop #3

Book Blogger Hop
It's time for Blogger Hop!

What is Blogger Hop? Only the best way to meet new bloggers and follow new blogs :D Just click on the picture above and follow the instructions. When you do follow a new blog through blogger hop be sure to say hi!

Happy Blogging!

The Body of Christoper Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci

I just got it. My summer reading book. It's a mystery book. I'm excited to read.

Things don't have to be SANE when they're NORMAL.

Christopher Creed was a freakm a wierdo--the kind of kid who makes other people feel uncomfortable. But even more disconcerting was his disappearance. Was it murder? Suicide? Abduction? Or did Chris Creed just run away? He's simply gone without a trace, and nobody in his small hometown of Steepleton knows what to think.

The only apparent clue--a cryptic e-mail message written twenty-four hours before Chris turned up missing--draws sixteen-year-old-Torey Adames into the mystery and sets him on a path filled with terror and pain. Soon vicious accusations are flying around Steepleton, pinning friends against one another. And the truth just keeps getting more twisted. Will Torey ever find out what really happened to Chris Creed?

My E-mail (1)

It's my version of My Mailbox. Since I don't get stuff in the mail I'm just changing it to my e-mail. :D

I have two new books from netGalley to read. :DD

Dark and Disorderly by Bernita Harris

"I was standing there naked when my dead husband walked into my bathroom..."

Lillie St. Claire is a Talent, one of the rare few who can permanently dispatch the spirits of the dead that walk the earth. Her skills are in demand in a haunted country, where a plague of ghosts is becoming a civic nuisance.


Those skills bring her into conflict with frightened citizens who view Talents as near-demons. Her husband comes to see her as a Freak; so when Nathan dies after a car crash, she is relieved to be free of his increasingly vicious presence. Lillie expects to be haunted by Nathan's ghost, but not to become Suspect #1 for her husband's murder and reanimation


But what's most surprising of all is the growing attraction between her and psi-crime detective John Thresher. He thinks that Lillie killed Nathan--and Nathan must agree, because his zombie is seeking revenge. Now she and Thresher must work together to solve her husband's murder--before his corpse kills her...

and

I'll Become the Sea Rebecca Rogers Maher (No picture available)
Jane Elliott has found peace. By all accounts, she's a success story: a survivor of childhood abuse who has dedicated her life to teaching. She's also engaged to marry Ben, an ambitious documentary filmmaker.
But hers is a false and fragile peace. Focusing on her students at an urban Jersey Shore school and maintaining a relationship with an absentee fiancé conveniently keep Jane from feeling much of anything at all.


This safe existence is threatened when she meets David, a musician who runs an afterschool program for at-risk kids. Because of her commitment to Ben, Jane can deny her attraction to David and convince herself they are just good friends.


But an accident, a death, a grim family obligation and her own intense desire force Jane to overcome the past, rethink the present-and take a genuine risk on love.

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy

Title: Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy
Author: Ally Carter
Release Date: Already out
Rating: 4/5
Publisher: Hyperion
Book Summary: After staking out, obtaining, and then being forced to give up her first boyfriend, Josh, all Cammie Morgan wants is a peaceful semester. But that's easier said then done when you're a CIA legacy and go to the premier school in the world...for spies.

Cammie may have a genius I.Q., but there are still a lot of things she doesn't know. Like, will her ex-boyfriend even remember she exsists? And how much trouble is she really in after what happened last semeseter? And most of all, why is her mother acting so strangely?

Despite Cammie's best intentions to be a normal student, danger seems to follow her. She and her friends learnthat their school is going to play host to some mysterious guests--code name: Blackthorne. Then she's blamed for a security breach that leaves the school's top secret status at risk.

Soon Cammie and her friends are crawling through walls surveilling the school to learn the truth about Blackthorne and clear Cammie's name. Even though they have confidence in their spy skills, this time the targets are tougher (and hotter), and the stakes for Cammie's heart--and her beloved school--are higher then ever.

Review:
Chapter One is a pretty good kick off for the story. It tells you about Cammie and what she does. It introduces a lot of the main characters right off the bat, which is good, their personalities will take shape through out the book.

One of the parts I liked was the part where it states:

"Headmistress Morgan had ten different lipsticks (only three of which were for purely cosmetic uses)."

I thought it was pretty funny to see that over half of the lipsticks in her drawer are actually not for what it seems.

During the book there were a lot of spots where it was kind of dragging or too fast. Still, as you read it still kept you asking questions. Is Blackthorne a rouge opperation or was it a school for boy spies? Answers are revealed, but then more questions arise to take their place. Are the boys against them?

I must say though that Zach is amazing even though that he could sometimes be kind of bi-polar, but hey that's just what I think.

It wasn't the BEST thing in the world, but it was still pretty good. I liked the plot.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Thursday, July 15, 2010

The Paranormal 5 Contest

The Under Cover Book Lover is having a really big contest.

What does it consist of you ask?


Nightshade - Andrea Cremer (ARC)

Paranormalcy - Kiersten White (ARC)

The Eternal Ones - Kirsten Miller (ARC)

Halo - Alexandra Adornetto (ARC)

Pegasus - Robin McKinley (ARC)
AND
FIVE packs of 5 gum:

Zing (Bubble)

Cobalt (Peppermint)

Flare (Cinnamon)

Lush (Tropical)

Rain (Spearmint)


To enter just click the link and read the blog post. She's a great blogger so be sure to follow her :D Reason I don't follow? My internet is wierd and it doesn't show me the "Follow" button.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Tyger, Tyger

Hello Everyone! My first review of the day is Tyger, Tyger by Kersten Hamilton :D

Title:Tyger, Tyger
Author: Kersten Hamilton
Release date*(New): 11/15/10
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Book Summary(from Goodreads): Teagan Wylltson's best friend, Abby, dreams that horrifying creatures--goblins, shape-shifters, and beings of unearthly beauty but terrible cruelty--are hunting Teagan. Abby is always coming up with crazy stuff, though, so Teagan isn't worried. Her life isn't in danger. In fact, it's perfect. She's on track for a college scholarship. She has a great job. She's focused on school, work, and her future. No boys, no heartaches, no problems.
Until Finn Mac Cumhaill arrives. Finn's a bit on the unearthly beautiful side himself. He has a killer accent and a knee-weakening smile. And either he's crazy or he's been haunting Abby's dreams, because he's talking about goblins, too . . . and about being The Mac Cumhaill, born to fight all goblin-kind. Finn knows a thing or two about fighting. Which is a very good thing, because this time, Abby's right. The goblins are coming.
 
Review:
 
This book by Kersten Hamilton is AMAZING. I'm not even joking.
 
OK, Chapter One and maybe Chapter two were a little slow, but that's because of the introductions of the MCs. I was actually getting worried there, I thought that maybe this book wasn't as good as people were saying.
 
Boy, was I wrong.
 
As soon as Finn Mac Cumhaill stepped through the door, the story became a lot better. Finn has an amazing personality. He's a jokester, but he can be serious, compassionate, but he has a rough side too. You see it all. He's an amazing fighter against...well ANYTHING.
 
I love how she described one of the minor -I guess I can say that- as Ambercrombie Boy. If the moment wasn't so tense in the book I would have probably started cracking up. This book's minor antagonists also included cat-sídhe. We all know that Julie Kagawa's IRON KING and IRON DAUGHTER included a cat-sídhe as well, but this book gives you a whole new look on them which I liked.
 
Another thing that was really good was that all of the characters Teagan, Finn, Aiden, Mamieo, were all very strong characters. They all had something to them that made them unique to everyone else. It's good to find books like that.
 
And, I was very happy with the ending to the book. There was nothing I would do to change it. At all.
 
I was very happy and this book deserves it's 5/5. Be sure to purchase it in book stores on 11/15/10 because you're going to love it.
 
~M.A.CHASE♥

New ARC/Another Book :D

The day inwhich I recieve a new ARC to read and review and another book :D

The book is called Betrayed by Claire Robyns

Two Feuding Families
Amber Jardin has no taste for the bitter feud started before her father's banishment. But now that he's passed, she's had to return to Scotland and his barbaric people. After her bloodthirsty uncle kidnaps one of the family's rivals, Amber is in turn captured by Krayne Johnstone, the enemy laird. Despite their enmity, their attraction is immediate-and unfortunate, as Amber has sworn to escape.
One Lusty Temptation
Krayne is amazed at the wildcat's repeated attempts to flee. He should steel himself against her beguiling ways-yet with time, he is driven more witless with lust. When the ransom exchange fails and Krayne is left with Amber, he finds he cannot tolerate the thought of her with another man-and she cannot tolerate the thought of returning to her uncle's home. Will passion and love win out over mistrust and betrayal in time to prevent an all-out war?

And, My ARC Presumed Dead by Shirley Wells
Dylan Scott has problems. Dismissed in disgrace from the police force for assaulting a suspect, he has no job, his wife has thrown him out and-worse luck-his mother has moved in. So when Holly Champion begs him to investigate the disappearance of her mother thirteen years ago, he can't say no, even though it means taking up residence in the dreary Lancashire town of Dawson's Clough for the duration.
Although the local police still believe Anita Champion took off for a better life, Dylan's inquiries turn up plenty of potential suspects: the drug-dealing, muscle-bound bouncer at the club where Anita was last seen; the missing woman's four girlfriends, out for revenge; the local landowner with rumored mob connections-the list goes on. But no one is telling Dylan all they know-and he soon finds that one sleepy Northern town can keep a lot of secrets.

Monday, July 12, 2010

Read-a-thon

Once Upon A Read-A-Thon
I am now participating in read-a-thon!
I will be updating frequently on, what books I'm reading and where I'm at in those books.
All books will be reviewed after Read-a-thon
Right now:

  1. Tyger, Tyger page 322/322
  2. The Alchemyst page 375/375
  3. Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy 236/236
  4. Hacking Timbucktu 263/263
I'm done with my reading for the read-a-thon. I've completely four books in three days. That's a new record for me. Tomorrow July 15th there will be one review up and the next day another and so forth until I'm done with the books I read or I just put something random or something. It was fun participating in the Read-a-thon and I hope that I can participate in another like this again.

Guilty of Charge

I haven't been reading -hides behind random pedestrian- I know, I know. I will get back on reading. I just need to find my page on Tyger, Tyger because my computer was restarted and deleted everthing :DD

So, I will leave Blogger and Twitter right now...after this tweet...no, no, I'm  going.

So, I will see you all tomorrow!


~M.A.CHASE♥

Sunday, July 11, 2010

To-be-read book list

I have the longest TBR book list in the world

  1. Goddess of Yesterday
  2. Stolen
  3. Blood Magic
  4. Time Expired
  5. Angels and Demons
  6. Bitten
  7. The Summoning
  8. The Awakening
  9. The Reckoning
  10. 13 to Life
  11. City of Bones
  12. City of Ashes
  13. City of Glass
  14. City of Fallen Angels
  15. Shadow Hills
  16. Siren
  17. Matched
  18. The Last Song
  19. The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner
  20. The Forest of Hands and Teeth
  21. The Replacement
  22. Ink Exchange
  23. Brightly Woven
  24. Personal Demons
  25. Eyes Like Stars
  26. Hush, Hush
  27. Beautiful Creatures
  28. The Emerald Tailsman
  29. Firelight
  30. Torment
  31. Beautiful Darkness
  32. Linger
  33. Mockingjay
  34. Intertwined
  35. Unraveled
  36. Heart of the Dragon
  37. Jewl of Atlantis
  38. The Nymph King
  39. The Vampire's Bride
  40. The Amazon's Curse
-sigh-

~M.A.CHASE♥

6 Book Giveaway!

A Good Addictions is giving away 6 different books to 6 different winners!

Just click here to get to A Good Addiction's post and read the blog post to enter.

Books that are being given away:
  • The Replacement by Benna Yovanoff
  • Firelight by Sophie Jordan
  • Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
  • Matched by Ally Condi
  • Personal Demons by Lisa Desrochers
  • Torment by Lauren Kate
It's a great opportunity that ends August 8th at 6pm CST.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Random Excerpt (2)

Today is a Random Excerpt post! The last post was an excerpt from The Extraordinary Adventrues of Alfred Kropp by Rick Yancy.

Now, for today's Random Excerpt!

It is a Stephenie Meyer book.

She dragged me back in time, to a much older memory -- a memory that had escaped her for a long while. I was surprised to realize that she had only put these memories, the old and the fresh, through her careful control despite the fact that they were one of the most precious of her secrets -- because the urgency of her discovery.

Can you guess what book?

~M.A.CHASE♥

Saturday, July 10, 2010

No Posts Today

I'm actually going to a waterpark :DD

I'll post a 'Random Excerpt' post when I get back if it's still early.

Ciao.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Friday, July 9, 2010

To my followers,

Lately I've felt discouraged and alone about twittering and blogging. I've hardly gotten encouragement at my household and it doesn't help not knowing if there is someone to fall back on if this thing comes crashing and falling. My friend, Harmony, has been giving me encouragement and telling me that it's not faith from other people I need, but it's faith in myself that's the most important.

I want to blog, I want to write, I want to meet new bloggers, writers, authors.

My family doesn't know how I feel when I write, read, blog, they don't know how it feels. They always cut me off at some point. They don't know how important it is to me to try to make it to the top to help anyone that's at the bottom of the barrel to reach the same point. All I want to do is try. I'm not saying that I want to be better than everyone else.

The problem is; I feel like an outcast sometimes, shut out from the rest of the blogging and writing world. Alone. The only person I can share my thoughts with is to my reflection in the mirror. That's why I try so hard to blog, to meet people like me who just want to share thoughts, meet people, learn, grow.

That's just a thought, a message. I don't expect any comments or any new followers, just a place where I can get everything I have bottled off my chest.

Thank you,

~M.A.CHASE
Singer, Writter, Blogger, Reader, Friend.

Thursday, July 8, 2010

Last Chance

YA Bookshelf is having a giveaway that ends TOMORROW.

The If I Stay giveaway! (US & Canada only)

Be sure to enter in the contest~!

~M.A.CHASE♥

The Wave

Title: The Wave
Publisher: Laurel-Leaf Books
Author: Todd Strasser
Rating: 5/5
Summary: The Wave is based on an incident that took place in a high school history class in Palo, Alto, California, in 1969.

Ben Ross and his history class are about to learn a lesson they will never forget.

As they study World War II, Ben Ross's students can't seem to understand how the German people could have followed Hitler and the Nazis. So Mr. Ross creates an experimental movement called The Wave. What begins in a single class room quickly gathers momentum. Before the end of the week, The Wave's motto, "Strength Through Discipline, Strength Through Community, Strength Through Action," governs the entire school. Only two students, Laurie Saunders and David Collins, recognize The Wave for what it is and set out to stop it before it's too late. But it history destined to repeat itself?

Review:

Based on a true story, The Wave is an empowering story of this high school.

To me, this story gives out a great message on being independant and don't follow what one 'leader' says just because it makes your life easier and you don't have to make decisions. Everyone has the freedom to decide what to do.

This book also gives the reasons why the Nazis just turned their heads and looked away during WWII. It's the perfect book to learn something about what could of happened during the whole Nazi thing.

During the book you follow a jock named David Collins, a good student named Laurie Saunders, their teacher Ben Ross and you see a character named Robert Billings the class nerd and loser.

This would be a great book for a history classroom or even a language arts class room because it will strike up a lot of conversation indeed.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Happiness :D

Finally, my computer is up and running. I'm going to finish The Wave then jump right back into Tyger, Tyger. I'm soo happy!

So now, I can happily post without having to worry if my old laptop is going to freeze on me :DD


~M.A.CHASE♥

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Summer Reading

Hello everyone! Today I got my first summer reading book, the other one is being ordered :P So here is the summary in the back of the Wave by Todd Strasser.

the Wave is based on an incident that took place in a high school history class in Palo Alto, California, in 1969.

Ben Ross and his history class are about to learn a lesson they will never forget.

As they study World War II, Ben Ross's students can't seem to understand how the German people could have followed Hitler and the Nazis. So Mr. Ross creates an experimental movement called The Wave. What becomes in a single classroom quickly gathers momentum. Before the end of the week, The Wave's motto, "Strength Through Discipline, Strength Through Community, Strength Through Action," governs the entire school. Only two students, Laurie Saunders and David Collins, recognize The Wave for what it is and Set out to stop it before it's too late. But is history destined to repeat itself?

I'm actually probably going to the library tomorrow so, I'll see what I can find there :D Until then ciao.

~M.A.CHASE♥
Going to the library and B&N. I'll have books to read and review while I wait for my computer to work. I'll post as soon as possible.

~M.A.CHASE

Saturday, July 3, 2010

Technical Difficulties "/

Yup, the title's right.

Since my computer doesn't want to work for some strange reason. The following books will not be blogged for a little while because I cannot read them:

Hacking Timbuktu
Tyger, Tyger
Winter's Passage

I will try to blog, but it will be very difficult to do so.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

~M.A.CHASE♥

Thursday, July 1, 2010

The Mermaid's Mirror

Title: The Mermaid's Mirror
Author: L.K. Madigan
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Summary:
There's something drawing Lena to the water. It's making Lena sleepwalk to the beach. It's compelling her to surf even if it means putting herself in grave danger and going against her father's wishes.
A woman emerges from the waves—a woman with a silvery tail.
She has a message.
She has a key.
When Lena finds a brown leather sea chest and uses the key to unlock it, she has no choice but to look into the watery depths of her secret past through the mysterious mermaid's mirror . . . Lena's life will never be the same.
Review:

When I picked up this book I didn't really know what to expect. I love the idea of the "mysterious mermaid's mirror" and the "woman with a silvery tail."

So I read it.

It was absolutely amazing. I was reluctant to put the book down until I knew what was happening with Lena and what the key was for.

Ready yourself for the depths of Lena's past and what was so important in the chest.

L.K. Madigan made a mermaid idea into something more: more complicated, more intriguing. When this book comes out on 10/04/10 I recommend picking it up.

Like every book it starts out kind of slow, with a backstory or just something that may be unimportant at the beginning, but as soon as it takes off it's amazing and wonderful.

I hope this was helpful to you :D

~M.A.CHASE♥