Important Notices

Special Announcements

Giveaways:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Other:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Search

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Updates

Hello again everyone! Have't posted duet some family issues over the weekend, but now I'm back! How are you guys doing? Ready for updates?

Alright, well, first off I just need to scream. *clears throat* Ahhhh! I finally reached eighty THOUSAND words!It feels so great to think that in only ten thousand more words I will have arched my goal (:

I promise I'm almost done with City of Bones then after that I can concentrate on Iron Queen and en City of Ash. My science teacher says City of Glass has a huge part in it. I'm excited to read it and find out. (: #plansforfuture


I wrote a small little short story thing that's like three paragraphs maybe a little more that I will post. I don't know. I might make a separate page just for my short story things. #thinks

Hope you guys had a wonderful weekend and that all of you have a great week!

~M.A.Chase♥

Monday, January 17, 2011

Birthday!!

Tomorrow is my birthday!! Eep! I can't believe that I'm finally turning fifteen!

It's so exciting!

Tomorrow I'm going out to dinner with family and I'm super excited.

Then at the end of the month. January 29th to be exact, I'm going to be having a huge party. Hope you guys have a nice day!~M.A.Chase

Monday, January 10, 2011

Phantom Universe

Title: Phantom Universe
Author: Laura Kreitzer
Release date: February 15, 2011
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Obsidian Mountain Publishing
Book Summary: (From Goodreads)

Sold into slavery to pirates at the young age of four, Summer learns to survive the rough seas of subterfuge and thieves through silence. When the boat she’s lived on most of her life is destroyed, Summer finds herself washed up on the shore of a new world, a phantom universe full of the bizarre and extraordinary. She meets Gage, the one boy who understands the girl with no speech. But when their lives are put on the line, will Summer finally call out? Or will all be lost in the fathomless depth of silence?
Review:
"I don't even know you and you've stolen a part of me. Why can't I treat you like the other Outlanders? Why does my heart insist I stay and fight for you?"
 
Ahh! Ahh! AHHHHHH!
 
Review done.
 
Not really *cough* Anyway, on with the real review.
 
Where do I start? The characters;
 
Summer; amazing. She's so strong and she has such a terrible back story making her even stronger. I give my props to her. After so long on a boat not speaking she's still able to keep her head on straight on her shoulders. I would have probably lost it and tried to escape, punishment out of my mind. I love her so much!! I would love to see more of her.
 
Gage; AHH! The ultimate YA lover! AHH! He's just so amazing. He's like Summer's little personal hot body guard that we all wish we had. ;P Like Summer, he's strong. Even though his past is never mentioned in the book (unless I missed it which I'm sure I didn't), I can tell that something is making him stronger. He's so adorable and the way I imagined him was like the hottest thing on the planet. (: I would LOVE to see more of him in next coming books.
 
Landon; he's so sweet and protective. While Summer was on the ship with the pirates he was always there protecting her which I thought was super cute (not as cute as Gage's awesomeness of course). XD
 
The book overall had a great plot and I wasn't expecting anything that happened. Originally, it was supposed to be my treat for when I write 2K or more. It was one or two chapters per 2K, but then that slowly escalated to five chapters per like hundred. It was so addicting I put down everything to find out what was going to happen to the characters.

There are so many twists and amazing parts (Gage is included in most of them). I love this book so much that words cannot explain how much I love it. AHH! I have been recommending this to like EVERYONE I know. I might even use it for a book talk in my English class because it's THAT amazing.

If you want to see why I'm so obsessed then READ IT. (:

~M.A.Chase♥

Friday, January 7, 2011

Stuff Concerning My Contest and My Birthday!

Ok, first, the contest.

I have some sneak extra entries to anyone who follows my twitter. (: They'll happen at random during the whole month of January from now, on.  (Hint: Following me/Laura Krietzer on twitter is one of the EXTRA ENTRIES in the form)

Anyway, things concerning my birthday.

My birthday is in 11 days! I'm so excited! I'm finally turning fifteen and I'm just jumping up and down. (Yes, fifteen is a big number for me.) I'll be doing all kinds of extra entry things on my blog, twitter and on my facebook page. (: Just make sure to keep tabs and you'll be alright. XD

Have a nice day everyone! Phantom Universe review soon!

~M.A.Chase♥

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Bookish things(kind of)

I'm reading Laura Kreitzer's Phantom Universe and I'm LOVING it. I think she'll be one of the authors that I read all there books. (: Wait up for my review on it.

In other news, I've gotten over 77K in my WIP and I'm soooo happy! I'm 3K from 80K and after that 10K count down to 90K my big goal! If one day I come on here and the post is all jibberish and all you can understand is 90K then you know I've finally reached my goal! After that I'll finish my book freak out some more then start editing. (:

In other news, I have City of Bones by Cassandra Clare here. It's staring at me to read, but I need to finish Laura Kreitzer's Phantom Universe (which is addicting, btw) before I start any other books, though I will be forced to start reading it as it's the only book on my bookshelf that I haven't already read (though I need to finish Linger and Mockingjay, but THAT'S NOT THE POINT) and I need a book for English "Independant Reading".

I'm also thinking about starting to do some of my book review through video so I can literally TALK about the book and it's not a whole bunch of written words on a internet blog. (: I've never done a Vlog before in my life so I warn you I'm still getting the hang of talking to no one in particular in front of a camera (as I already do that anyway while I'm writing, but THAT IS ALSO NOT THE POINT).

I auditioned for a part in another play for drama and I'm freaking out about the part cause I don't know WHO got it. I hope I did, but I don't want to crush my friend's chances either. They've had experience since they did a last year, but I actually had the experience of performing in front of a live audience and performing in front of judges for competition (BTW we're going to STATE competition!) and stuff. It's not my fault if I get the part and she doesn't right?

On a lighter note, my contest is going swimmingly! If you haven't checked out the contest you should click here to see the post. It's a *signed* copy of Laura Kreitzer's Shadow of the Sun and the first in her Timeless series (which I reccommend you read). The contest ends February 1st, 2011 in which I will use Random.org to choose a winner.

If there happen to be any authors or publishers that took the time to actually read this rambling post (which is probably one to none) I want to hold a big promotional giveaway in late March, early April for a big blogiversary! It will be my one year anniversay and I want to make it as big as possible. (: If you are interested please e-mail me with the email I've provided int the Contact Me page.

That is all for my really random post. Hope you enjoyed. (:

~M.A.Chase♥

Saturday, January 1, 2011

New Year Giveaway!

Since it's the New Year I thought I'd kick it off with a nice giveaway of one of the books that I enjoyed the most during 2010. Laura Kreitzer's Shadow of the Sun! Click here for my review of Shadow of the Sun. Start the New Year off with a great book!

Here are the rules for this giveaway:
1. It is open to US and Canada and UK! Sorry for anyone outside of that.
2. You must fill out THIS FORM to enter. I will not accept any entries in the comments.
3.Please leave a comment on this post. It could be of anything. It's just to let me know you've read all the way through.

Happy New Year!

It's finally 2011 and all the books we've been waiting for are now around the corner! Who's excited for this years releases? I know I am!!

This year will be my year and I know it!!

Did you guys write New Year's Resolutions?

I did. Mine involves writing and blogging. That's fail isn't it? Oh well, here it is.

1. Completley finish the first draft of my book and start editing March.
2. Blog a lot more often.
3. Read a lot more.
4. Get on twitter and talk to other bloggers more often because lately I've been depriving myself of that.

What's you're New Year's Resolution?

~M.A.Chase♥

Being Jamie Baker

Title: Being Jamie Baker
Author: Kelly Oram
Release date: June 14 2010
Rating: 4/5
Publisher: Bluefields
Book Summary: (from Goodreads)
An accident that should end in tragedy instead gives seventeen-year-old Jamie Baker a slew of uncontrollable superhuman abilities.

To keep her secret safe Jamie socially exiles herself, earning the title of Rocklin High's resident ice queen. But during a supercharged encounter with star quarterback Ryan Miller she literally kisses anonymity goodbye. Now the annoyingly irresistible Ryan will stop at nothing to melt the heart of the ice queen and find out what makes her so special.
Unfortunately, Ryan is not the only person on to her secret. Will Jamie learn to contain her unstable powers before being discovered by the media or turned into a government lab rat?
More importantly, can she throw Ryan Miller off her trail before falling in love with him?


Review:
When I picked up this book I thought 'interesting, a protagonist that has superpowers.' I read the back and thought it was cool that it all starts because of a kiss.

The things that bothered me were how fluffy most of it was. I know it is probably the least girly thing I can say, but it's true. This book has great potential. There is a great plot and overall it's a pretty good story, but it was just way to "romance" I guess.

It was well written and well thought out to have her fall in love, then to have it be hard because of the protag's powers, though there could've been more scenes that involve her using her powers I guess.

The people that would really like this book would like romance and a little fantasy. I, myself, am I more adventurous.