Important Notices

Special Announcements

Giveaways:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Other:

There is nothing in this category at the moment.

Search

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Finished The Mermaid's Mirror. Will blog when my internet agrees with me.

~M.A.CHASE

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

New ARCs to read

The Mermaid's Mirror by L.K. Madigan. Will be released on 10/04/2010

Hacking Timbuktu by Steven Davies. Will be released on 11/15/2010

Tyger, Tyger by Kersten Hamilton. Will be released on 11/15/2010

These reviews will be posted as soon as I can finish the books.

Ciao

~M.A.CHASE♥

Monday, June 28, 2010

Iron Daughter

Ok, the reason I haven't posted all week was because I was with my family in Mexico. But, I'm back now and ready to write the review :D

Title: Iron Daughter
Author: Julie Kagawa
Rating: 5/5
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Summary: Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron Fey, iron-bound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her. Worse, Meghan's own fey powers have been cut off. She's alone in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can't help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.
Review:
Thankfully this book is now added to my growing list of books I enjoyed. Yay! Ok, now to the real review.

The thrilling excitement that came from Iron King is increased during it's companion the Iron Daughter. Julie Kagawa's words make the story flow to a beautiful ending (which I am not spoiling :D).

Different sides of Ash and Puck are shown in this book. Ash's nicer side and his colder side. Puck's charms and his seriousness. These two sides of these characters make the story come alive more. You don't know if they're acting or if everything is real.

I don't want to reveal too much of this book before August 1st, but just saying, get ready to be pissed/annoyed/having the feeling to punch (at) Grimalkin. Just saying.

Now I am eagerly waiting her third book IRON QUEEN. May it be as great as these :)

~M.A.CHASE♥

Friday, June 18, 2010

(Finally!) I've been reading for a long time and finally finished Iron Daughter. I'll write a revoew as soon as my internet is working.

~M.A.CHASE

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Currently reading

Well, right now I"m currently reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Yes, I know, a very old book. It's been a while since I read it so I decided to read and review. I have a very long list of "Must Read Books."

List:
  • Beautiful Creatures
  • The rest of the House of Night series
  • Linger
  • Hush, Hush
  • Brightly Woven
  • Ink Exchange
  • The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner
  • The Forest of Hands and Teeth
  • The Replacement
I can't think of anymore right now will update if I do or check off which ones I've read.

Saturday, June 12, 2010

The Red Pyramid


Title: The Red Pyramid
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Author: Rick Riordan (Author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series)
Rating: 5/5
Summary on inside cover of book: Since his mother's death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter's been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants - school friends and a chance at a "normal" life. But Carter has jut what Sadie longs for - time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he's going to "make things right." Byt all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Juluis summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Eygpt are walking, and the worst of them -Set- has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey - a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has exsisted since the time of the pharaos.


Review:

If I had to explain this book in one word, it would be: amazing. The adventure of Carter and Sadie Kane is intense and leaves you wanting more of the Kane Chronicles. Rick Riordan tells Ancient Eygptian mythology in a brand new way.

I love the way this book was written. It's Carter and Sadie's P.O.V alternating back and forth every two chapters. The story is written as if it was published off a recording. It has comedy and suspense that leaves you tearning the pages wanting to find out what happens. I couldn't put this book down. I sat reading this hoping that it wouldn't end, and when it did, I sat there dazed and hoping that Rick Riordan would release his next book soon.

This story had a great plot and climax and the pace was set just right, not too fast, not too slow.

I highly recommend picking this book up though I would read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series first because during the first chapters, when they question why they're in Brooklyn, one of the characters hints that there are "other gods" that lived in Manhattan.

Thank you

~M.A.CHASE♥

Friday, June 11, 2010

Blog Hopper #2


Blog Hopper lets bloggers connect with other bloggers and read their blogs. It's a Friday - Monday thing every single week. So, hop on to crazy-for-books.com and add your blog link. Then create a post on your blog saying you're participating. That seem easy enough? Then go on. Have fun!


~M.A.CHASE ♥

The Red Pyramid

No, this is not a review, but I am half way done with it :D

Anyway, if you like Eygiption myth, this is your book. It's amazing!!

I thought I would post something about the book.
_____________________________________________________________________

New Template!

What do you think?

I might change it from the one that I have while I'm writting it, but I think that new feature is great. Now we don't have to scower the internet! lol.


Thank you to all who have followed (All 9 -sigh-)!

~M.A.CHASE ♥

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Finally!

My mom FINALLY finished The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan (author of The Lightning Thief) so I will be reading then I will review.

Randomness xD

~M.A.CHASE ♥

Sister's Red


It's finally here!

Title: Sister's Red
Publisher: Little Brown
Author: Jackson A. Pearce
Rating: 5/5
Summary (on the inside cover of the book): Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris - the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister, Rosie, from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and a blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at slaying the wolves. She's determined to protec the other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.

Rosie March once felt that her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts ferociously alongside her. But even as more girls' bodies pile up in the city and the Fenris seem to be gaining power, Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves. She finds her self drawn to Scarlett's only friend, Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax. But does loving him mean betraying her sister and all that they've worked for?

Review:

An action packed thiriller. A page turner. Jackson Pearce's words come a live in this book. I love the way that she ties everything in at the end. Why the Fenris came to Ellison, How she got her scars and many things that jsut come into play at the end. The characters are strong and determined to reach their goals.

Her description skills are amazing and she never ceases to amaze me when it comes to a twist in the story. Her abilities are what make the book come together.

Scarlett's love for the hunt also makes the book exciting. She puts her self in life threating situations just for revenge and to save her sister and the rest of the girls.

{This may be a spoiler} I feel sad though because Scarlett never really got to be "happy". What I mean is, yeah, she's happy to hunt, but she never really got to be something like one of the Dragonflies. Thought I would just put it out there. {Possible spoiler over.}

I highly suggest picking this book up. It came out in stores yesterday, Monday the 7th of June.

I hope this review helps!!

~M.A.CHASE ♥

Friday, June 4, 2010

Spells


My late post, but here it is in it's new format.

Title: Spells
Publisher: Haperteen
Author: Aprilynn Pike
Rating: 5/5
Summary on back (or in this case inside cover) of the book: Although Laurel has come to accept her true identity as a faerie, she refuses to turn her back on her human life - and especially her boyfriend, David - to return to the faerie world.

But, when she is summond to Avalon, Laurel's feelings for the charismatic faerie sentry Tamini are undeniable. She is forced to make a choice - a choice that may break her heart.

Review:

In this compelling tale that is a companion to WINGS - that I will re-read and review - Aprilynn Pike shows Laurel's two worlds, the human side and the faerie side.

She returns to Avalon after so many years and stays to study for a few weeks. She studies 24/7 in order to get everything just right. She learns many different things like, potions and different uses for different plants, in order to protect herself against the trolls - most specifically, Barnes.

She later meets Klea whom she doesn't trust though she has saved Laurel's life...twice. But, who would trust someone who randomly shows up and is a monster slayer?

Laurel's journey of love and action is continued perfectly with this book. I highly suggest you pick this one up if you've read WINGS.

RANT WITH SPOILERS

David and Tamini. What can I say about them...? I love Tamini. I don't know who David thinks he is getting all buff and...stuff. Tamini should've been with Laurel the whole time not David. Tamini has been Laurel's sentry for years and yet, David, whose only know her for, a year? thinks he can waltz in and just take her.

Tamini is sweet and caring. David annoys me, because he doesn't trust Laurel being alone with Tamini. What does David think Tamini's going to do? Erase her memory about him and have her stay in the faerie world? Tamini would never do that. He hated doing that even when her memory was already wiped.

Nothing happened between Tamini and Laurel when they were alone during the festival..well, except for the kiss =D. David should know, Tamini is a faerie on of her kind. But, no.. He has to make her life difficult and maker her choose.

RANT WITH SPOILERS OVER

I don't want to ruin the ending so I won't tell you who she chooses... She chooses Bob, yup Bob, because she hated David and just left him to be with Bob. Hehe, that really didn't happen, but a girl can have a laugh right?

~M.A.CHASE ♥